We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sizzlingly Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Bull

The Black Bull
Hull Road, York YO10 3LF, England
+44 1904 411856
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #309 of 657 Restaurants in York
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
High Wycombe
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Sizzlingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in the Travel Lodge attached the this restaurant and had both breakfast and evening meals for 4 days. The food is extremely good and the prices are keen too. Its a very busy place but both Denise and Paul seem to run the place extremely efficiently. Well done guys you certainly improved our stay but Don't you have homes to go to? You both seem to be there night and day. Really hope the management appreciates you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    13
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“How long...over an hour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Home from work, needed to go to York to pick up an EBay purchase, a trailer. No time for tea, thought 'driven past this Sizzling Steak pub lots, let's give it a go'.. bad idea!
Drove into car park, loads of room in large one round back for Series II and trailer, bit of a green oasis actually. Walked round front and found a table in the sun, off to order food and drinks.

Lady wife a large glass of red, Merlot, myself a pint of York Brewery Terrier. Food ordered, Surf and Turf for wife, Tangy Tomato Burger for me. Ordered, out to front decked area for a bit of sun.

We got there about 19:20, sat out.. sun fading .. getting colder .. half hour passed no food, noticed others were waiting too, pub wasn't that busy ... getting colder... sun going in.. hour passes, people start moving inside .. (we had dogs, so were sticking it) ... time passes ... hour and quarter .. now definitely too cold... take dogs back to Landy, we move inside ... food arrives at 20:45 .... burger OK, chips hot.. Steak, chewy (dogs enjoyed it) and cold, scampi SQUARE, never seen square scampi!!

Did I say the red wine was awful, would have been good on chips and that no apology for taking over an hour to serve food.

Sorry, you need to do better, it's attached to a Travel Lodge, need I say anymore!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, excellant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went on Sunday evening, the place was quite busy and as always the staff were very helpful and pleasant. We visit quite often and have always found this the case. The food is good value for money and is served pretty quick. Well worth a visit for a value meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor to Average Food, Bad Atmosphere, Far From Centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The food is awful. They're not bad on things like deep fried chicken but the steaks and Sunday roasts are beyond awful. Full of gristle. The staff tend to be either rude or indifferent, and will ignore you all night if you don't fight for their attention at the bar. The interior is very cheap with sticky tables and not particularly inviting. Every night tends to be some awful function for the locals, like bingo or football. I've never seen it hold karaoke but I wouldn't be surprised. This makes it loud and uncomfortable to eat in, with everyone around you becoming increasingly boisterous. Despite how tacky the food and interior are, it's not cheap with standard pricing at £7+ per head. I only stumbled into this place because I was starving and stuck in a residential area. Not recommended. It's not a good pub at all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horrendous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Had sunday roast and it was possibly the worst "food" I have ever been served. I should have known by the drink and food stained sticky dirty menus and the un clean sticky food encrusted high chair = run away! The gravy was lumpy. The mash was grey and solid. The yorkshire puddings had black greasy bits underneath obviously from a dirty oven tray. The instructions o the back of the roast potato packet had not been followed and my veg had been re heated in the microwave until they had no colour, solidity or taste left...the meat.... need I go on?!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Bull also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Bull, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.