We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Siam

The Old Siam
126 Micklegate, York YO1 6JX, England
1904635162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 712 Restaurants in York
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

great food excellent service and brilliant take away. this is now our local so will be visiting alot :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    132
    28
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excelent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I would recommend this establishment for its excellent food and service. We had the buffet selection and every course was well presented and tasted great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We saw the reviews on tripadvisor and as the restaurant was near our hotel we thought we would pop in and see if there were any tables available. Lucky for us a couple had just left and we got a table straight away! It was packed so I would advise anybody else to book. The food was the best thai I have ever tasted in a restaurant, and the staff were lovely.I told one member of staff that the "thai custard" for dessert was amazing and she told me she made it herself and gave me the recipe! I haven't made it yet but I definitely will do.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, East Lothian
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING FOOD AND SERVICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

While in York for a couple of days we asked the receptionist at the Hampton by Hilton if she could recommend a Thai restaurant and she pointed us in the direction of The Old Siam just round the corner. Having arrived without a reservation we found they had a party of over 30 Thai customers. We were luck to get a table and the staff could not have done anymore to make our visit memorable. The food is delicious. The service outstanding. We also had a Thai Rosy wine that was very nice. Best Thai meal ever and will definitely be back for more!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL THAI FOOD AND FREINDLY STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Popped in to The Old Siam having passed a few times walking in to the town centre and so glad we did the food was DELICIOUS. I had the prawn spring rolls to start ( which still had the tails on) , my wife had the chicken satay. They were both delicious. I then had the red chicken curry which was quite hot but lovely. My wife had prawn stir fry for her main and we shared a portion of sticky rice SUPERB. The staff were lovely and friendly and attentive , we'll definitely be back when we return to York !!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Siam also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.