We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn Deal DB&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin York to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in York
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Autumn Deal DB&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this HDV during Half term taking advantage of their Diinner Bed and Breakfast deal. The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was the usual high standard from HDV. We had a very pleasant meal in the Bistro from the fixed price menu. Again the server was very riendly and took an interest in our stay. The food was very good, they even supplied an extra bread loaf because the meal was delayed slightly. Breakfast was a delight and very filling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    250
    73
    20
    8
See reviews for
60
508
9
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here just one night with family & friends.
The hotel is a little way from the town centre so if you don't like walking, you would need to get a taxi.
We were in the annexe part of the hotel and as it was raining very hard that particular evening, we had to run across to the hotel to avoid getting soaked.
The bedroom was very good. Lots of tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc .very comfortable bed
Cooked breakfast had to be paid for, which was a little disappointing, but there was plenty of choice.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and this is a hotel which we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

What can I say!!! My husband booked me the hotel to celebrate my 40th, and we certainly did it in style. The room was amazing, beyond my wildest dreams, monsoon shower and roll top bath to die for. Private dining was a unique experience and the staff were absolutely fantastic. I can't recommend enough what a fantastic hotel this is.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

A party of 11 of us from work came to dine here. From booking to payment the whole thing was seamless. The bistro has a lovely atmosphere, although there was a very upset little person in whilst we were there which is great from a family friendly point of view but maybe a bit of a let down if your hoping for a quiet romantic meal. Nevertheless the food was delicious and service was wonderful. Really friendly staff are an asset to them! I would recommend to fiends and family and I would also return myself. I'd love to stay over as I hear the rooms are lovely!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at another Hotel du Vin (Glasgow) we were keen to try another one in the chain. The sunday special offer of spend £75 in the bistro and stay in a standard room for £25 seemed like a good offer. The hotel is short distance walk from York city centre, they do charge £10 a day for parking this was a first for us for a hotel stay, and not made common knowledge until check out, signs should be made available in the car park. Our room was in the new part and was fine although very small, I am glad we weren't paying full price for a standard room. Coffee machine and fresh milk a nice touch although no biscuits or bottled water by the beds. We felt this was because we were on the special offer rate as this was different to Glasgow. We had went down for dinner in the bistro had a very nice non alcoholic cocktail and a gin and tonic, noticed we weren't offered any olives or nuts (special offer perhaps!). We went through to the bistro which was very busy and food was fine, nothing special, service attentive. We noticed that although there is a service charge added to the bill there is also a space for a tip very cheeky! We didn't have breakfast we always find room only rates a bit galling so we went into York where there is plenty of places to eat breakfast for much less than the £12.95 per person continental breakfast charge at Hotel du Vin. There are so much better boutique hotel around the UK so we don't feel the need to try any more of the Hotel du Vin chain.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for a Saturday night on the room, meal and breakfast deal.

Have to say I was disappointed with the room. It was in the mezzanine which is in the new part of the hotel. The room has a bath and shower on a mezzanine and the room below it. The room was very, very small. It was dominated by the bed and with the other furniture there was very little room to move around. Other negative points were no free bottled water, only £4 bottles available from the mini bar. Room was noisy with both noise from the main road and other guests coming into the room. Was charged for a newspaper when I did not ask for it, got a nice 8:15am wake up call on a sunday morning despite not having asked for it and had to pay £10 for parking despite paying well over £300 for the package.


Food was ok, quite tasty and I found the staff very friendly and helpful. bar staff were nice as were the reception staff and the young people staffing the bistro. There was no vegetarian choice to speak of with only one option. Bit galling when there was many meat choices, including steaks, but only a single veggie option which was not that appealing but I had to go for.


I am not sure if I would stay here again. For the money I would expect a lot more and a larger room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

just had a great weekend at this hotel the staff and the rooms could not be faulted. the only down side was the restaurant five star prices one star food ,four of us dining we all found the food totally bland unseasoned and undercooked or overcooked i return my mains but the other three ate theirs only because they were so hungry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.