We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aucune souris dangereuse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin York to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in York
Armadale
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Aucune souris dangereuse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed at HdV for two nights. Booked into Penfold, a very large room in the main building with a large bathroom with walk-in shower, double sinks and roll-mop bath. The room was excellent: large bed, nespresso machine, comfy sofa. Arrived by train so unaffected by car park charges that seem to have rattled several reviewers' cages. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the station and close to the centre of York (as is most of York to be fair...). The hotel itself is a bit of a maze, with comfy little corners, and corridors painted in what I think is Farrow and Ball "Stygian Gothic", but this made the room seem even lighter and airier. The open courtyard was a very pleasant place to sit for a small libation. Outside at the back a comfy wooden hut for any smoke inhaling pariahs. Service was professional and unobtrusive, with staff remembering who you were so they didnt have to keep asking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    250
    73
    20
    8
See reviews for
61
509
9
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nestled in a small university town in north England is an excellent little boutique hotel in York. We came for our daughter's graduation and arrived late evening from London. Tired, jet lagged but arriving at this hotel was like coming home. The staff were friendly, efficient. Room was huge, clean, modern, but best of all was the bathroom. The floor was heated, very large, rain shower and a bathtub in the middle. Amenities was sufficient.

It is within walking distance to the city centre, Minster and all the touristy attractions.

We will definately come back the next time we are in York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel as we wanted to spend some time in York as a treat. The location of the hotel is excellent with only a 5 minute walk into the city centre. I would say our stay there was 'disappointing' and nothing more sadly. The decor is very good however given the price and the rating my expectation was set higher than what the reality actually is. Upon check in we were informed that the car park to the rear is an 'additional' £10 which I find completely unacceptable given the room prices the hotel charges. It was politely pointed out that there was free parking in the neighbouring street which there is - all of about 10 spaces then it's permit only!!! On entering the room we found we had been allocated a disabled room and not informed of this at check in. Equally we not told of breakfast/dinner serving times etc. Having ordered drinks we fancied some 'nibbles' and was presented with olives and a bowl of nuts - I requested some bread sticks/ dip and was informed that they did not have these not even in the restaurant! Really?? We were then informed that they would gladly fetch the packet of crisps from 'our' mini bar but that was it. Having been lucky to have stayed in many top hotels around the world I was excited to stay here BUT the experience and lack of 'going the extra mile' fell woefully short. Descent enough hotel nice atmosphere good location but left feeling that I could have simply booked a travel in and had the same experience at a fraction of the price would I return no.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I thought the styling and decor was very modern and the double room was very comfortable and styled to the same high level as the main areas of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and efficient and I would certainly recommend this hotel to other travellers and be keen to stay here again. It is also a very convenient location for walking straight into town (5 mins), where we went and ate out. I would have liked to rate the hotel as excellent but the only slight fault was probably cleanliness and marks on the walls and doors, all other areas were clean, tidy and well laid out.

Room Tip: Small car park but we managed to find a last space as we arrived late at 8.00 pm. The sink was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We came away with good memories from an all-too-brief stay at the York Hotel du Vin. The helpful staff directed us to local tourist sites, checked the online weather forecast and did everything they could to meet our needs. The decor in our room was strikingly original, with fittings and linen of impeccable quality. One jarring note : the extra £10 this chain charges for hotel car parking is inappropriate, especially at weekends, when onstreet parking can be found nearby for nothing

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Went to the Hotel bistro restaurant for our anniversary. The service was unbelievably poor, with the staff seeming to be in a state of disorganisation and chaos. As a result I asked for the service charge to be removed, (which was agreed to). The restaurant manager was sympathetic to our critical comments and asked for my mobile number. The next day she phoned me and invited us back as the hotels's guest for another meal that night. We somewhat reluctantly agreed, but were delighted by the end of the evening having had a first rate meal with excellent service.Our opinion was futher enhanced, when after having left the restaurant and having walked several hundred yards down the road, there was the restaurant manager chasing me with a bag that I had left behind. So having sworn that we would never go back to a Hotel du Vin, we would definately consider returning to a hotel that not only admits its mistakes but takesthe right action in remedying a bad situation.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

One of the much admired chain this branch is difficult to fault really, Good location slightly outside the city walls, helpful friendly staff and an excellent Saturday night meal. A very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Not cheap but very good value all things considered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not fronting the road. As always in a hotel the rooms are very warm and when you open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.