We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin York to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Truly brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011 via mobile

Came to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was great, we were upgraded to a suite, which topped it off. Great large bed, loved the bath and the shower. Can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    250
    73
    20
    8
See reviews for
60
507
9
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The hotel was beautiful from the outside the only thing was put me off was the busy main road right out side. When we walked through the door it was very confusing where the reception was but after further investigation we found it. The staff were very friendly and asked how our journey was and then took us straight to our room. When we entered the room it was clean and very welcoming. Even though the room was on the bottom floor right next to the main road you could not hear any of the outside traffic. The room had everything you could ask for, it included safe, mini bar, iron and ironing board, bath ropes, hairdryer, tv and also a dvd player. The hotel also had a library where you could go and read and even borrow books and board games. The breakfast were lovely you could either have cooked or cold. The hotel bar was excellent and the bar tender was out of this world. He was able to tell you a bit of history about most of the spirits that were in the bar and his cocktails were great. The Hotel du Vin is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a lovely hotel in York, situated about a ten/ fifteen minute walk from the city centre. Part of our trip involved spending a day at the races, again the location is excellent for this purpose as the racecourse is just up the road, taking around five minutes in a taxi.
There is a car park at the back of the hotel, it's quite large and we managed to get a space even though the hotel was fully booked for the duration of our stay. There is a charge for the car park (£10 a day) but it is secure, with a locked gate.
The hotel is beautifully presented throughout, and the rooms are spotless. Our room (situated in the hotel annexe) was on two levels, with the free standing bath and monsoon shower situated on the mezzanine level.
The rooms are extremely well equipped including iron/ironing board, good hairdryer,flat screen TV , DVD player, coffee machine, kettle, plenty of storage space and a well stocked mini bar which includes a carton of fresh milk for tea/coffee. The only negative I had was the room was a little dark, especially when trying to put on make-up but that's a minor complaint.
The food is also faultless, amazing breakfasts (lovely omelettes, French toast, excellent full English) We had dinner in the Bistro one night of our stay, again everything was lovely with the steaks being particularly fantastic.
The staff at the hotel deserve a special mention, they are ultra friendly, super efficient and make you feel so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
This is not a cheap hotel, but the saying you get what you pay for applies here. York itself is beautiful, the Minster is a must see and a day at the races is an amazing experience. All in all, we love this hotel and will be booking up for next year soon.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

A 4 Star hotel ! ,possibly two years ago when it was last decorated from what i could see of the tired, shabby furniture & rusty door stops.The Extraordinarily Overpriced bar (£6.50 ! for a small bottle of beer & absolutely NO draft Available) guaranteed a permanently empty, Atmosphere free lounge.The breakfast on the second morning was outstandingly appalling, Raw Black pudding with snotty eggs, fat soaked - cold mushrooms garnished with a cold fried tomato for the bargain price of £14.95 EACH !, are not ones ideal pick me up.This hotel is at the bottom end of 3 stars at very best & we will certainly not be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of August.Firstly you have to pay £10 to park at the rear of the hotel which is on a first come first served basis however there were plenty of spaces.I dont agree with having to pay when the room price is in excess of £200 but needs must.
Emily at check in was very good.Informative and friendly and swiftly showed us to our room.
We were staying in the Hartingford room which I believe is a superior double.It has its own little staircase to it.HOWEVER.......it is right near the bar and toilets so you have the noise of the fire doors opening and shutting everytime someone goes through them.Only a minor issue but still a gripe.The room itself seems to be located above some sort of generator and if both of us werent good sleppers I would have asked to be moved.
The room was very clean and comfortable.Bathroom tiles need a bit of a scrub but the shower was lovely and the bath in the room was a nice touch.
We walked into York in the evening it only took about 10 mins so its well situated.
York was very pretty(shame about all the hen and stag dos!!).
After enjoying some cocktails (bar manager very good as were his cocktails)we slept well in our comfortable bed.
I always look forward to a good breakfast but this was the biggest let down of the stay.Not only did they not offer a vegetarian breakfast when I asked to omit the meat and black pudding they didnt double up on the mushrooms or tomatoes.And they dont offer beans at all!I think even the poor waitress was embarrased to bring me a plate of 1 poached egg,1 luke warm mushroom(I kid you not) and half a tomato.
Even my husband who does eat meat was disappointed.

I dont like to complain and Im not even fussy but having been fortunate to stay at many 4-5 star hotels you cant help but compare.
Great staff,location and cleanliness
Poor breakfast and bathrooms need some maintenance

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Are we just lucky or what yet another nice hotel in York. The welcome and service from the reception staffwas great, we dropped off the suitcase and toddled off to the see the gee gees at the knavesmire, returned to the hotel laden down with the contents of the bookies satchels and retired to the chic and stylish bar (we're from Gateshead so anything seems chic). Shown up to the standard room and it compared very favourably with a 5 star place up the road in the city. Nice big bathroom with robes and everything no but yeah but the toiletries are nice and plentiful and the shower was spot on. The room even had a balcony so you can have a tab if you want. The minibar was a little pricey but well stocked, food at the hotel is alittle steep so we went local after a couple of ales in the nearby pubs.
Nice comfortable bed and underfloor heating in the room adds to the subtle nuances the hotel offers. Good place to stay heartily recommeded

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Again Overall a lovely stylish hotel, just as you would expect from this group. Rooms very good.

We dined with 2 others in the restaurant for dinner , it was not good, bread rolls where hard at first and I mean rock hard, then the new ones frozen in the middle, the steak was cold and chips where raw and greasy as they had been cooked in cold oil. the desserts where ordered but they brought out the wrong one and when told waitress just snatched if from the table and 'tutted' not good. Even the coffees they got wrong. Good news without prompting the manager reduced the bill and came over to say sorry.

we thought dinner was one off but it continued at breakfast, Service was a bit shaky. Staff seem in a world of their own when serving, from not getting food to the right table to waiting far too long for them to take your order. It opened at 7 by 7.30 the buffet part was still not fully open. No butter on tables and some tables had wine glasses on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.