We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugely Disappointing and Cold” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Plunkets

Plunkets
9 High Petergate, York YO1 7EN, England
+44 (0)1904 637722
Improve this listing
Ranked #273 of 716 Restaurants in York
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hugely Disappointing and Cold”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

As i was born in York I know what an institution this place supposedly is but quite why, I don't know! We booked a table for 5 in advance for a double birthday celebration. The table was close to the door and at the bottom of the draughty staircase so was freezing cold. Despite asking to be moved twice and pointing out that at least 2 other suitably sized tables were available, the staff showed no empathy or willingness to accommodate us. Worse still, the food is over spiced, stodgy and uninspiring. Definitely our last visit

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    93
    41
    30
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never again - joke !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my husband for what should have been a lovely night out, what a disappointing joke it was. We were told to wait upstairs as a table would be free in about 40 minutes, 40 minutes on what day they didn't verify !!! Had a drink upstairs, after trying to order two bottles of wine they were both out of stock !!! Mmm the busiest time of the year, Christmas which is the same time every year and they had sold out, truly unbelievable. The lady offered me an alternative spritzer which tasted like Luke warm dish water, so bad I couldn't drink it, had there of been a plant nearby I would have watered it. After 80 minutes we were shown to our table !! Best of it was there were numerous empty tables in the restaurant. By now we were starving and our ware night out was already ruined. We ordered starters and after 30 minutes they still hadn't arrived, disgusting service with no apology. We got out coats on ready to leave. At this the manager arrived holding a microwaved mess in a dish which my German pointer would have refused. We told her we were leaving. The manager was extremely rude, aggressive and has no customer conversation skill what so ever, totally appalling attitude towards us. If I employed her she would be sacked, too many nice people out there after jobs to employ the likes of this rude person. We left and will never return again, worst night out for years. We walked up the road and got served immediately in a restaurant that employed staff that could cope !!! Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I was impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great food - chose from the lunch menu which included a drink. Chicken Quesadilla with a glass of wine and my friend had the same - great value and very tasty. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you like Mexican Food go somewhere else!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Plunkets, the name should have given me a clue....not exactly Mexican. And not exactly Mexican was what we got! I ordered the "Two Burrito's" which was basically one soft tortilla rolled pencil thin around 3 dry cubes of chicken and another pencil thin soft tortilla rolled around a sloppy streak of what was possible beef mince that was squeezed so thinly that it could have come out of a toothpaste tube. The two sticks of nothingness were then slathered in the same "beef" slop that was inside the "Beef Burrito". The "refried beans" came in a separate tiny dish and was basically a cold bean soup. My wife ordered the fajita's on a hot plate which had the same dry chicken served with sad sliced peppers and onions and was so tasteless it could have been Chinese. On the plus side the food came 4 minutes after we ordered it. The downside of that of course is that it could possibly have been cooked at an earlier time and then reheated. If the owner of this restaurant values their business they should make the effort of going to a proper Mexican restaurant or just use google to see not only how Mexican food is prepared but also what it should look like. If you like Mexican Food go somewhere else!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have been fairly regular visitors to Plunkets for the last 20 years - often taking friends for the experience and very good Tex mex food. Oh dear - if our experience last night was anything to go by it will be some time before we forsake some of the excellent alternatives in the city.
Starters of pulled pork in mini tortilla's sounded tempting enough - it probably would have been very nice after a minute or so but the burnt offering we were served did nothing to enhance the experience.(the table next to us we're served with the same vaporised offering).The nacho's to share were fine.
Main course delivered us a vaporised chimichanga containing a tasty filling at least. We have never experienced tasteless baby back ribs - but trust me they do exist ! Covered with a barbecue sauce which went cold and congealed within a minute. I was told that the chips were ok. Usually we have sizzling beef not slightly warm beef to make up fajitas.
Come on Plunkets - step up to the plate and sort your kitchen out , back to where it was , there are always new places to try in the city

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plunkets also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Plunkets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plunkets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.