We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding Reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1331 Bar - Restaurant - Cinema - Venue

1331 Bar - Restaurant - Cinema - Venue
13 Grape Lane, York YO1 7HU, England
01904 661130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 714 Restaurants in York
Price range: $9 - $54
Cuisines: International, Bistro, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Strensall, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

In January we booked our Wedding reception at 1331. From the day we booked the reception the 1331 team were excellent in advising us of the best way to ensure our reception ran like clockwork. On 7th September 2013 we got married and had our reception. Alex, Ewan and the rest of the 1331 team ensured that the day was perfect. The menus we were provided had something for everyone and on the day the three course meal was superb. A big thank you to all who were involved in making our day so enjoyable

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    76
    14
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Before we got married we often used to go here as you could sit outside and drink a bottle of wine and enjoy some good food. Last year we waited nearly an hour for food without an apology. Today we waited 40 minutes for sandwiches and despite the waitress promising to come back with chips they never arrived. The food is good but the service and attention to detail is so poor now that we will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just brill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I wish all bars were like 1331! The staff are always friendly and polite, the courtyard is pleasant to sit in (even on cold evenings, thanks to the overhead lamps) and their house wine is both a reasonable grape and a reasonable price. Wonderful, can't recommend it enough!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary in York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Spent our wedding anniversary in York this year. Stopped over in a small b&b. saw some of the sites of York . We went our that evening and walked past many bars and restaurants and stumbled upon 1331. We were confused at first as we didn't know where the dining area was as the establishment is over three floors. The restaurant is in the top floor ,two flights of narrow steps to the top. The waiter service was second to none. The guy waiting on us was very helpful and polite. My wife had lamb shank and I had a 16oz sirloin steak . The food took a while to come to our table but it was worth it . We washed the food down with a bottle of house rose .the food was very nice . The ambience of the restaurant was romantic with candles lit. We would call in again the next time we visit York.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A very satisfied customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My family and I were made to feel very welcome despite the couples atmosphere. The food was excellent as was the service. The whole experience was a pleasure, we will definitely return when we visit York again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed 1331 Bar - Restaurant - Cinema - Venue also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to 1331 Bar - Restaurant - Cinema - Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1331 Bar - Restaurant - Cinema - Venue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.