We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for parties!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1331 Bar - Restaurant - Cinema - Venue

1331 Bar - Restaurant - Cinema - Venue
13 Grape Lane, York YO1 7HU, England
01904 661130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 716 Restaurants in York
Price range: $9 - $54
Cuisines: International, Bistro, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic for parties!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited yesterday afternoon as a hen party group of 17 and ordered from the very good value lunchtime menu, 2 courses for £9.95 or 3 for £12.50. The portions were generous and tasted fabulous!

The staff were very friendly and polite and the room we used (the Tiffany Room) looked beautiful.

I will definitely visit again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    76
    14
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Woeful!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Thot this place looked good from the outside so decided to venture in for lunch. We both ordered the pork and apple compote sandwich on granary bread with a side order of cheesy chips. I asked the waitress if they were proper fat chips rather than the skinny type fries served in fast food outlets and she assured me they were.

What a disaster! Bread was completely stale and dry, no butter or anything and the pork filling was dried out. The chips were skinny fries that were dry and covered in bright yellow, processed cheese which was also over cooked.

We picked up numerous pieces of glass off the floor from around our table - hardly inspiring confidence in cleanliness.

Very disappointed and would not recommend and would not go back :((((

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A nice average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It's a lovely bar/restaurant over three floors, great atmosphere with a friendly feeling. The staff are attentative and helpfull. We found the menu a bit difficult dominated by meat although there are fish and a vegetarian options. I would recommend this restaurant, it's not gourmet but its a nice place with food that does not disappoint .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great fajitas.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went here on a date night to have the share platter of fajitas. We were given all the wraps etc and then served the filling on a big hot tray that was piled high. The food was lovely and reasonably priced. Would definitely visit again to try other items on the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We had our wedding here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We really love this bar and thought it would make a great venue to hold our civil partnership celebrations.

Although they are licensed for weddings etc, we had our ceremony at the registry office and the reception here. They do offer wedding packages, but are so flexible in their approach and, pretty much, allowed us to build the day how we wanted it.

They dont charge venue hire, nor did they insist on any minimum numbers for catering so straight away we started to see huge cost benefits of not having our doo in a hotel or other venue.

The catering was great. Everyone commented on the quality and variety of the buffet. Not your usual wedding buffet at all. But, this was our choice & they do have more "traditional" finger buffets, if that's what you want. They also offer a typical "wedding breakfast".

What drew us to the bar was their individuality & flexibility. We had a few less conventional ideas for our wedding & the bar accommodated all of them. Chloe particularly worked really hard to make sure everything went according to plan and we are so grateful.

The only negative I can mention is that one of the speakers in the main room wasn't working. As music was a huge part of our day, this was disappointing, but certainly didn't spoil anything.

We love 1331 & would certainly recommend it for drinks, meals, parties & weddings. The staff are great, as is the food & atmosphere.

We cant thank them enough for making our wedding the day we wanted it to be,

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1331 Bar - Restaurant - Cinema - Venue also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to 1331 Bar - Restaurant - Cinema - Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1331 Bar - Restaurant - Cinema - Venue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.