We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B+B we've stayed in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Georges York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St Georges York to your Saves list
St Georges York
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 St Georges Place | off Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1DR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 213 York B&B and Inns
1 review
“Best B+B we've stayed in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend chose this B+B because of Kittson (the cat) and it turned out to be the best place I've stayed. Walkable distance from the city and situated on a quiet street. Our room was big, bright and very clean. Wonderfully comfortable bed and lovely en-suite. Perfect view of the well maintained garden was an added bonus. We were greeted warmly by the owner and his Yorkshire charm and we were looked after well. Breakfast was fantastic. Beautifully cooked and served with a cheerful and chatty attitude. All the staff we met were so lovely, even the cat! We definitely recommend The St George's and we will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    35
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
80
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it was close to the race course and after reading the great reviews knew we were going to have a good weekend break. We were not disappointed. Room was at the top of the house, enough room for ourselves and we'll appointed. Very close to the race course. Breakfast in bed was a treat. A very good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

a very charming b&b and welcoming,the owner welcomed us and showed us to our room which was large ,clean and bright being at the front and overlooking the street.this hotel is well situated to visit the city,either by walking,the bus or taxi. i would recomend the use of a taxi which are cheap i thought,5pounds to get into town and are plentyful plus door to door service.if i had any criticism it would be the lack of a guest phone and the breakfast is not enormous,but apart from those two minor points we would definitley stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The St. Georges is a lovely bed and breakfast situated within walking distance from York's historical center. There are some pubs and restaurants in the vicinity, so if you are hungry despite the enormous breakfast, you will not starve.

Actually, nobody will starve here. The house cat is an enormous orange-furred guy called Kitson, who constantly strolls the premises (most likely, looking for food). He is very friendly, but sadly on a diet, so we had to give the cat treats we brought to his mother. She lives in the house next door and is a fantastically cuddly cat.

The rooms are large and practical, the baths are nice and clean. If anything, I would improve on the showers, as I do not like the British power shower appliance in general.

Cat lovers and romantically inclined guests, you will like this place.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor and enjoyed it a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A long weekend in York was made all the more pleasurable with our stay in the St Georges hotel
we were made very welcome when we arrived and the rooms were large and comfortable whit large screen TV,s The food was excellent and we would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our host was incredibly friendly and welcoming on our arrival. He showed us the facilities and asked if we required any further amenities. The room itself was clean, large and sunny. Breakfast was filling and the host even offered extra food for my partner who is very tall and eats more than the average person. When we enquired about payment, our host was very laid back and said we can pay at the end of our stay or whenever we are ready. The B&B itself was also in easy reach to York's town centre, we walked in every day which took no longer than 20 minutes, and was quite a good way to work off breakfast.

All in all a lovely, laid back, welcoming place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor room is very bright and spacious, but is next to the reception buzzer so unless you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Quiet location close to the MIcklegate and the racecourse, clean room of a good size with dated decor, but free wi-fi and a smart TV. The 'car park' is tiny and difficult to manoevre out of, but there's ample on street parking.

Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice, served with real gusto. Good eggs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Georges York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges York

Address: 6 St Georges Place | off Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Georges York 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian house has 10 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms. Situated in a quiet cul-de-sac across from York's racecourse. It's a 10 minute walk to the city walls, then a further 10 mins walk to the centre. Our emphasis is on friendliness and cleanliness. We offer breakfast in bed at no extra charge or join us in the dining room. If you have any other questions please feel free to contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your St Georges York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Georges York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.