We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alcuin Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alcuin Lodge to your Saves list
Alcuin Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Sycamore Place | Bootham, York YO30 7DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 216 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Beautifully clean, fantastic breakfasts with a lovely warm welcome. Darren could not have been more helpful he gave wonderful advice on things to do and local places to eat. The Alcuin Lodge is perfectly situated within walking distance of the city centre but tucked away in a nice quite area. We really recommend this B&b and will return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your all round positive feedback about your stay at Alcuin Lodge. You mention all the elements we would hope to deliver for you while here and with a quiet location that met your needs too. Good to know you'll be coming back to visit - we look forward to your call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
113
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Alcuin Lodge is a cosy and contemporary accomodation, perfectly located 10 mins walk from the city centre of York through lovely gardens.
Darren was a lovely and helpful host, very attentive and polite. He cooks a yummy breakfast (best poached eggs!) and always ready timely and tasted delicious!
This is the only place we will be staying when we visit York again!
Thank you again Darren for a great comfortable stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your great comments about Alcuin Lodge. Most importantly, I'm so glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to come back to see us again. Thanks also for the kind comments about the way you were looked after - always a pleasure. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick St. Lawrence, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Pros:
A really clean and tidy B&B, very well run!
10 min walk from the hub of York.
Very good breakfast.
Excellent advice on best pubs, eating places and attractions.
Darren was helpful in every way he could be.

Cons:
Having to take shoes / boots off at the door is not something I've come across before in a B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Alcuin Lodge and the hospitality you received. I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfasts and found our location so convenient too.
In response to the comment re shoes, we encourage guests to feel at home here and to bring indoor footwear (we always send a "welcome" email on receipt of booking).
Great to see you refer to your trip as a "firs visit to York" and I hope we'll be seeing you again next time you're up this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

we recently stayed at the Alcuin lodge guest house at York for a two day sight seeing trip ,firstly i dont think we could have found a better place to stay if we had tried. proprietor Darren is pure gold he is a mine of information regarding the attractions at york and the diners for eating out , The guest house is first class as is the hearty breakfast the room we had was spotless and well furnished, what was really good for us was the fact its only a 10 to 15 minute walk from the railway station and a short walk into the city centre, this was our first stay at york and our first stay at the Alcuin lodge but my wife and i both agree Darren and this guest house made our 2 days that bit more special and we will certainly be back for more .

Room Tip: this was our first time at the Alcuinso we have only seen the one room we occupied but it is in a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind comments. I'n really happy to read that your stay at Alcuin Lodge enhanced your visit to York and delighted that you're planning to return.
Hang on to your cathedral and museum tickets as they're valid for a whole year and of course there is always something new to see in the city (check our website for a link to the range of fesitvals).
Thanks again for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Basin, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We will be back to use AL as a jumping off point for a trip northern UK and Scotland.

When you describe Alcuin Lodge and proprietor Darren's service you search for another word for the overworked "perfect". But it is a word that expresses our feeling for this place: location, peace, and decor. When you go to the fabulous York, start with Alcuin Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I couldn't agree more that York is fabulous and I'm very grateful for your kind assessment. I certainly wouldn't say that things are perfect but we continue to work hard to improve continuously.

It was great having you to stay and I really enjoyed our chats. So good to know you enjoyed your time here so much that you're already planning the next trip. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Alcuin Lodge is a great B&B to stay at & Darren is a wonderful & knowledgeable host. Our room was very clean, quiet, & comfortable with delicious choices for breakfast - especially the poached eggs (perfection).
We particularly appreciated the tips on things to do, places to see and restaurants/pubs to try. One of our favourite places Darren suggested was Robin Hoods Bay. Such a great day out!
Thank you Darren - we loved our stay at Alcuin.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the first landing. We liked this because we were able to open the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Your kind review and comments are greatly appreciated. I'll pass on the compliment to my mum as she was the egg poaching consultant / tutor! I'm so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Alcuin Lodge and your visit to York / North Yorkshire. I hope the rest of your trip was a success and that you'll be back in the UK (and York) in the not too distant future.

(Just to add that the windows in all the rooms can be opened)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The B&B is perfectly fine, tastily decorated, functional and clean but staying away is all about the experience for us. From greeting us, to waving us off, Darren was first class and made the experience one to remember. We are actually seasoned visitors to York but Darren's tips on places to visit/dine were gold - some real hidden gems. He obviously loves having people stay. Just go!!
Shaun & Sophie.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcuin_Lodge_York, Owner at Alcuin Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you both for coming to stay and for the kind comments on the hospitality you received at Alcuin Lodge. You're right, enjoying having people to stay is what it's all about so I'm glad to know that you think we've got it right. I appreciate you making recommendations to others to stay and also hope I'll have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alcuin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcuin Lodge

Address: 15 Sycamore Place | Bootham, York YO30 7DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcuin Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of an Edwardian family, Alcuin Lodge is now a comfortable guest house in the centre of York, with light and airy bedrooms, recently refurbished modern bathrooms and a welcoming breakfast room. Alcuin Lodge is the perfect place to stay during your visit to York, a City boasting some of the most amazing architecture and history in the UK. We are a short stroll away from the city walls, the Minster, Museum Gardens and city centre where you will find Betty's tea rooms, the Yorvik Viking centre, York Dungeon, a vast array of shops and many more places to explore. There is something for everyone to enjoy, all within walking distance. We are in a great location for the popular business areas and University, making Alcuin Lodge a great setting for business travellers and those visiting friends and family. Alcuin Lodge is a ten minute walk from the station. There is free on street parking available opposite the property, on a first-come, first-served basis. Our rooms have en-suite bathrooms and contain televisions with Freeview and DVD player. Towels and a hospitality tray are provided. We also have free WiFi available throughout. Our small double room has its own private bathroom which is a few steps away from your door. There is a sink with shaver point fitted in this bedroom for your convenience. We can arrange for flowers or chocolates to be in your room on arrival, or for champagne to be delivered. Breakfast is freshly cooked every morning, offering a traditional English breakfast (with bacon, sausage, tomato, beans, mushrooms, egg...) And toast. There is also a selection of cereal, juices, jams and tea and coffee. We can cater for vegetarian and gluten free diets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alcuin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcuin Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcuin Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.