We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous. Will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashley Guest House

Save Saved
You added Ashley Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashley Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   76 Scott Street, Off Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 208 York B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous. Will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Myself and partner often stay in York when visiting his family but this is the first time we stayed here. But it definitely won't be the last. We were greeted with a warm friendly welcome and told that we'd had our room changed to a slightly larger one. Everywhere was so clean and our host more than happy to help with anything. The breakfast was fantastic with something for all tastes and diets. I couldn't believe it was all included in the price. And only a ten minute stroll to the centre of York. I would recommend it to anyone and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    28
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
122
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights last week, and was very pleased with the friendly welcome and the hosts flexibility with arrival times.

Pros:
Clean.
Good value.
Location: quiet, but only 10 minutes walk into York city centre).
Great breakfasts with local produce and good coffee.
Friendly hosts.
Excellent shower.

Cons:
Being picky, the room was quite small, but it wasn't advertised as spacious.
Cooked breakfast portions could be slightly larger.

We'd definitely go back, and would recommend to others. If I could rate 4.5 stars, I would.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner have stayed at Ashley guest house 3 times now and I can safely say that it is the best guest house that iv ever been in. The place is really clean, rooms excellent, superb all round quality and the owner phil is a really friendly, sociable chap who would bend over backwards for you. Food is quality too, all from local suppliers and lots of it

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went by train to york then a short taxi ride to Ashley Guest House but you could walk to the Guest house.A lovely and friendly wecome by the owner.We stayed on the top floor of the house the room was small bot nice and cosy and nice and warm as it was a very cold weekend .room and bathroom was very clean and the shower was that nice you just dont want to get out lol.The breakfast was very good too with a good choise on the menu.We did not have to use public transport as everything was within walking distance .we had a lovely tme and if we go to york again we will use the Ashley Guest House again.cheers graham / julie......

Room Tip: phone Ashley Guest House up before booking then you will get the room that suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My partner and I cycle all over the country staying in little pubs and B&Bs and this has to be one of the best we've stayed in. So cosy and homely, the bedrooms are lovely and you feel like you've gone to visit a good friend or relative. Breaky is pretty great too- the french toast with yoghurt and honey is superb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKALA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I took my Husband away for a surprise weekend for a special birthday and this was the perfect place to stay. It was our first time staying here and everything was 1st class. Phil made you feel welcome as soon as he opened the door to us. We had room 4 with the roll top bath and the room was so warm and cosy, just what we wanted, The breakfast was lovely with a really good choice and very tasty. We will definitely be going back here again, Phil is very helpful with places to visit and eat and nothing is a problem to him. Toiletries were all there for us and soft towels, also cookies in the jar with a good supply of tea and coffee. Brilliant!

Room Tip: If you want a romantic break choose room 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here with our 4 month old daughter from the 10th to 12th December. We had initially booked the room with the roll-top bath for the novelty value but Phil contacted me and suggested we change to room 6 which is the family room. We're so glad he did because the room was perfect. It was large with a big comfy bed and plenty of floor space for our baby stuff! The decor was lovely with a large recessed mantle piece and nice furniture. The bathroom is large with a big bath and powerful shower. The room was always nice and warm and the free WiFi had good signal that allowed us to stream a film. Phil is a super host who is friendly, welcoming and a great cook! Our breakfast each day was faultless and consisted of quality ingredients. I had the 'Yorkie' full english breakfast and french toast with honey, blueberries and yoghurt, delicious! We particularly enjoyed the little homemade flapjacks which we took as a snack for the day. The location was perfect and only a 5-10 min stroll from the city centre. I have stayed in York many times in different B&B's and this was the best by far and incredible value for a 4 Star accommodation! I would recommend Ashley Guesthouse to anyone and we can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Guest House

Address: 76 Scott Street, Off Scarcroft Road, York YO23 1NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashley Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ashley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.