We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So silly...giggled quite a bit I did.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ghost Hunt of York

The Ghost Hunt of York
Shambles, York, England
01904 608700
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 47 Tours & Activities in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“So silly...giggled quite a bit I did.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Apparently there are two guide named Un Important (maybe there's an Ear Relevant) but our Un was the very silly Dan. I was quite worried at first as what appeared to be our little group of 15 turned in 40 (how would we even hear our little buddy Un?). But what deep and resonating voice and must have had theatrical training so no proble hearing, even though York Minster had bell ringing practise.

The good bit is the tour is very interactive so although very few ghost stories you will remember them all because of the build up and the interaction. A bit of blood (just the right amount). They make sure that children are up front, that everyone comes together as one silly group (no easy task when you've got 40 folks) and if it's chilly out you can be sure you'll be holding little mittened hands and squeezing in close to stay warm.

Lots of fun but if you want something serious this is not for the serious ghost hunter...what it is though is FUN and that's all in capitals. Oh...and very silly.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    91
    23
    13
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Trawled Trip Advisor seeking out the best of many Ghost Walks in York. It was obvious by the crowd that had gathered at the Shambles that this was the best tour. Our guide who started off by saying his name was " un important " and collecting the £5 from each of us...although I think we may have picked up some non payers along the way. The jokes were corny but we all had a good laugh anyway. The ghost stories were based on real documented sightings but were "dressed up" and delivered in a theatrical way. As York is considered one of the most ,or if not the most haunted city in the world, you couldn't visit without doing this tour. It starts at The Shambles at 7.30 every night.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bendigo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“7The Ghost Hunt Of York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

A real must. A fun filled tour of The Shambles in York. This was the second time we had been on the tour and it was as much fun as the first time back in 2011.
Will do again, was great to see the same old face, the walking commentary was just the best had every one in fits of laughter the whole time.
This tour is the best one to go on whilst in York great value for money.
Tania Schriever

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Fifth time in York, and as we were taking friends this time decided to revisit The Ghost Hunt of York. Excellent value for money and very entertaining. Your leader immediately catches your attention on his approach, and for £5 gives you an excellent hour and a half of stories mixed with humour. Nothing offensive - suitable for all ages.
Enjoyed a quick drink with the host afterwards and was good to hear about the background to the tour.
If you are visiting York, this is a must do.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quality Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This walk is great value for money, great enertainment and will have you laughing. As you see other ghost walks on your way around York you can see that this is the best by the amount of people that are on it.

At the end of the day no ghost walk in the world will have you scared (unless you actually see a ghost!), so you have to make the stories entertaining which is exactly what Andy does!

A great start to our night in York!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ghost Hunt of York also viewed

 

Been to The Ghost Hunt of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ghost Hunt of York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.