We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Paul's Hotel

Saint Paul's Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saint Paul's Hotel to your Saves list
Saint Paul's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   120 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“York.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Externally this looks like a lovely property..inside not so much. Appears to be a family concern, running although not owning it.
The decor is dated and would say in poor taste. Cluttered. Carpets seen better says as had most of the furniture.
Strong smell of cigarette smoke lingers on entering.
Over paid for a tiny dated room, worn furniture, vanity stool which was so old it collapsed when I sat on it leaving me flat on the floor on top of shards of wood / ply!! Response was..."oh dear that happens all the time with these" ??
Window in the tiny room (front of property) cracked and also wedged slightly open letting in cold air and noise.
Didn't sleep a wink due to traffic and drunken revellers.
Such a shame as ruined my York experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    4
    2
    17
See reviews for
10
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went with friends for the weekend and what a great find St Paul's was.
All the staff were super friendly and we had a great time experiencing their local pub.
The rooms where very large and very clean.
Breakfast was great with lots of choice even for a fussy eater.
Could not praise this B & B enough, looking forward to more little jaunts to York/ St Paul's.

Room Tip: There is an option of smoking rooms so ask if you would like one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family room. It had bunk beds, a single bed and a double. Was very comfortable for us. Our 4 year old twins loved it. Yes the furniture is a bit old but the sheets, bathroom and carpet was clean and thats all that matters. We had a Lovely breakfast too. I scoulded myself and the kind owners daughter drove me to a&e. Was much appreciated. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

On arrival, we were asked to settle our bill before we were shown to our room by a lady I think was the manager/owner. Our room (No 1) looked nothing like any of the photos, The interior was very tired and the net curtain was dirty. 2 bulbs in the bedside lamps not working and the mirror light in bathroom was faulty, The lady serving breakfast was pleasant and breakfast was good first morning, but bacon was hard next day. Parking facilities very good

Room Tip: avoid room 1 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was simply just "ok", we only stayed one night and this b+b was fine for this purpose. My partner offered to pay for a further night but I declined. The staff were just "ok" although one of them came schlepping down in her slippers in the morning and then they proceeded to smoke in front of everyone in the garden. I wasn't overly offended by this but I can see how this has put others off in the past. The b+b itself was in quite a nice location and we were able to easily access the town centre. Our room was clean but was in need of a lick of paint and some TLC, I wasn't expecting the ritz and we didn't get it.
I think of I were to describe this b+b it would have to be "someone's house which has Begrudgingly been made into a hotel". A little more care a love could be applied to make this a lovely little place to stay....it seemed neglected.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We (5 of us) had a "girls" weekend away. I say girls but actually we are all early 50s. On arrival the lady said "oh. You're lucky to catch me as I was just going out" I wasn't expecting you until 4pm". Not a great welcome. especially as we hadn't specified a time of arrival. The B&B had said we had to be there BY 4pm. We were asked for payment in cash in full on arrival. However, she did help us up the stairs with bags etc. We were all in the same room. Five adult females in: one double bed, a (very creaky) bunk bed for kids and a camp bed. One bathroom between us. It was clean and smelled fresh but it was very cramped and the decor is also very old fashioned and tired. For £38 a night EACH (all in the same room) you normally get better than this. There were some toiletries in the bathroom, which is a nice touch, but the tiny "bath" towels and handtowels were very frayed. Furniture very worn and the basin was cracked. There was also one socket for electricals with two lots of adaptors feeding tv, kettle, lamps, hairdryer and anything we had brought. There were bits of sellotape on the ceiling and ceiling lamp perhaps holding up the cracked 70s style artex. Our room was on the front facing a busy road with a lot of traffic noise all night. Breakfast was OK though. Good choice of cereals and cooked breakfast with friendly serving staff. Breakfast room and public areas had same 70s decor and looking tired, but again clean and a top rated food hygiene certificate on show. It's a 20 minute walk into the centre of York. Uphill on the way back. This B&B appears to cater for hen groups and so on on a stack em high and charge them as much as you can get away with basis. But it's obviously a successful business as it was full whilst we were there (Jorvik weekend) and some of the reviews on here are positive. It seems to attract extremes - you either love it or you don't. So if this is your thing and don't mind paying over the odds for old fashioned but clean and basic and are on good terms with your gang of friends (and don't mind a bathroom rota as long as your arm) - this would probably suit you, Didn't suit us - but we didnt let it spoil our weekend. There is also one of the rooms with a three foot high entrance door (they call it the Hobbit Room) which we didnt see inside - but unusual to say the least.

Room Tip: A different B&B unless what's described is your thing. Go in with eyes open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We arranged an early check in, our room was nice and bright, with everything you would expect. There was a lot of free parking around the area which was fab. Our room had a great view, and the owners were so nice, they made a real difference to our stay. The breakfast was nice, and we have already booked to stay again. We were offered late check out, but in the end we didn't need to take them up on it. I am surprised at some of the less positive reviews. I felt it offed very good value for money. If we were in the area we would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint Paul's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Paul's Hotel

Address: 120 Holgate Road, York YO24 4BB , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Paul's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Saint Paul's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Paul's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.