We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for exploring York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The York Priory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The York Priory to your Saves list
The York Priory
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   126 - 128 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #103 of 215 York B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for exploring York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here recently (May 2012) and it is a nice hotel, its very cheap but the service was fantastic and York centre is 10 - 15 minute walk away.

The rooms are a little dated and if you don't like too many stairs make sure you got a room on the ground or first floor.

Breakfast was fantastic, I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor or 1st floor room if you're not a fan of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    117
    42
    13
    11
See reviews for
75
158
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for the bank holiday weekend fantastic hotel lovely room lovely staff everyone was really helpfull rooms were spacious and very clean

Lovely location a short walk along the river got you into the centre in around 10 mins and was beautiful lots of pubs on the route to wander into.
Amazing place will be returning again soon :)

Also a fabulous reconendtion for rustique restaurant !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent three nights at his hotel on a bread and breakfast basis and it was in a good location with bus-stops outside and restaurants and the Barbican Centre within walking distance. Try Totos Italian restaurant - good menu/food and friendly staff. The hotel itself was fairly empty and the decor could be improved. Not sure about the large white panels in the dining room with pictures of cakes stuck on them, but the cooked breakfast was good. Unfortunately the bar was never open so drinks before going out in the evening was not an option, and when we came back after a show at the Barbican about 10.30 p.m. the place was completely shut-down so no night-cap either. The next night we bought a bottle of wine back with us to our room and sat in bed watching TV! The bed was huge and comfortable but again the question of outdated decor with heavily patterned bedspread and cushions. The carpet and armchair were both dirty and really should be replaced (Room 209).

There were two occasions when the same member of staff walked through the dining-room and lounge in her pyjamas and dressing gown. Not a pretty sight! The only other complaint was that when we left we paid by cash and were issued with a receipt, but later found that they had taken the same amount from our card which we had used to book online, and it took several days and phone calls to the hotel and the bank to recover the overpayment.

York is a lovely place to visit with plenty of history and things to see, but there are probably better places to stay for your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburn
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned from a nights stay in a family room with 2 teenage girls. The hotel is lovely, clean and comfortable. The room was plenty big enough for us 4, tea and coffee making facilities, wardrobe and plenty of cupboard space. Iron and hairdryer on hand. The ensuite facilities were excellent and clean, a corner bath and electric shower with supplies of shower gel and bubble bath which werent the cheapo type you sometimes get. Shower caps and 4 cups in the bathroom. The staff were cheerful and friendly and not overbearing. The small bar was great for us and it was reasonably priced. Breakfast was very good and is included in the price, 2 of us are vegetarian and there was lots of choice. It is well situated for a lovely walk along the river bank, and a nice stroll to the racecourse or town centre. Restaurants, pubs and local shops also in walking distance. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the York Priory for four nights at the beginning of April 2013.

We had upgraded to a superior room which was reasonably furnished, had great bed linen, comfy mattress and was very clean; the drawback was that it was a little bit on the small side...... not overly so but an extra foot or two on the length would have made a difference.

The tv and free wifi both worked well - there are two broadband routers in the building and I picked up a very strong signal from both; this was a real plus point as I have very often stayed in hotels where wifi is advertised as available "in rooms" and, when you get there, it's only available near the reception area or it's "not working this week".

The room had a large and newly refurbished bathroom with good, clean towels and the shower worked well (albeit the screen was a little short and we had to be careful not to soak the floor). I didn't go for breakfast, but my partner did and he said it was very good; wide choice of items all cooked to orders and the staff were helpful. There's the usual tea/coffee tray in the room and fresh milk is available at all times in a fridge in reception to take up to the room - a useful touch.

The hotel's location is good - about a ten minute walk into the city centre - and there's plenty of parking at the back of the building. The staff are also all very helpful; the lady who weclomed us was very friendly and you really do get the feeling that the staff are there to help you and are eager to do so........... I went down to reception one evening to ask if the heating could be turned up in the room as it was a little on the chilly side. This was addressed straight away and, when checking out, the receptionist referred to this and asked if it had been dealt with satisfactorily. I was well impressed.

Overall I think the hotel is very good and I'd definitely go there again if visiting York. It seems that there's some sort of improvement programme underway (for example, the bathroom was new) but some of the decor and furnishings are nonetheless a little tired. This is not a criticism, merely an observation. The important point is that it was clean and well looked after.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and there was a little bit of traffic noise as the hotel is on a fairly bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The welcome at this guesthouse is outstanding, and everyone working there is very friendly, taking the lead from the owners. Located a short walk from the city centre, this lovely hotel is ideally situated. Breakfast is included, and is very good. The hotel has a car park, which is a plus in York, and there is no charge for parking, unlike some of the bigger hotels. Bedrooms are comfortable, with tea/coffee making facilities, and fresh milk is available downstairs if you prefer it to the small "tubs".
There are places to eat nearby if you don't fancy walking back into the city for a meal.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed recently for a last minute mid-week break. We booked directly with the Priory, who were very helpful.

This is a 4* B&B, not a luxury hotel. If that's what you want, then go to a luxury hotel. We found the Priory to be a perfect base for our 3 days in York. We had asked for a superior room and were very happy with the room we were in. It was bright and clean with a very warm duvet and extra blankets if needed. The ensuite was spotless, with a lovely bath and shower over. There is a warning about the hot water, it is VERY hot! As other reviewers have posted, the rooms are not particularly large, but then we weren't intending to spend a huge amount of time in the room, as we had come to see the city. The room had a flatscreen tv with Freeview channels, free WiFi and the usual tea/coffee, an iron and an ironing board. A lovely touch is the availability of fresh milk from Reception that you can help yourself to and take back to the room in a little insulated flask. There is also tea/coffee available in Reception.

Our room was at the front of the hotel and it is on a busy road, Fulford Road leading straight to the Designer Outlet on the Outer Ring Road. Just take ear plugs if you are not used to traffic noise (old building, single glazing) and you won't notice, or ask the extremely helpful staff when booking if you can have a room overlooking the gardens as this is quieter.

This hotel is exceptionally well located, only 5 minutes along a riverside walk to the sites of Clifford's Tower and the Castle Museum. The reception staff were very helpful, providing advice on routes into the city. There is free parking at The Priory, both on a small hardstanding to the side, and in a larger gravel area at the rear of the hotel. Access to the hotel from the rear car park is via the rear entrance. The hotel has steps at both the front and back, so may cause some access issues for some guests.

The Priory has a small bar, which we used one evening after a long day out. We found it a pleasant area, along with the residents lounge at the front of the building.

Breakfast was superb. The buffet part includes a selection of fresh fruits and yoghurts, several cereal options and croissant. There is a large choice of cooked options in addition to this. The full English, our chosen option each day, was cooked to order and served by friendly, cheery staff who served us promptly.

Pricewise, this is a good value option. I have stayed at various places in the city before, including several visits to the Youth Hostel, and the price is comparable to that, with better rooms and without the noise from countless groups banging and crashing around! The Priory, during our stay, appeared to be popular with young families, but we were never unduly disturbed by anyone. I would certainly recommend this for a great value base for being out and about in York.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Superior rooms have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The York Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Priory

Address: 126 - 128 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The York Priory 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York Priory, established in 1930, is a Victorian end of terrace built in 1876 The hotel is actually on the main A19 Fulford Road. Just .05 miles from the city centre(google maps) and all the attraction and museums . There is a picturesque riverside walk along to the city which takes about 15 minutes, and also public transport right outside the front door to the city and the station. The York Priory provides free parking to all its residents through the duration of their stay in York. Ideally situated for The University and The racecourse. The York Priory is situated in the Fishergate the 1036 inner ring road of Fulford road near the city centre and Not to be mistaken with Fulford Village, which is 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The York Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York Priory Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York Priory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.