We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place. ..lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burswood Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Burswood Guest House to your Saves list
Burswood Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   68 Tadcaster Rd | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 213 York B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place. ..lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

One night stay on a Saturday .....lovely place stayed in orchid suite which was absolutely fabulous ..... So cosy ....... Breakfast in conservatory and was delicious ....nothing too much trouble .... Even a friendly hug from owners on departure ...will be going again and soon

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
178
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I have never been to the Burswood guest house before, George & Maureen made us truly wellcome, we had the Primrose room which was lovely, we slept very well and the full english breakfast was wonderful.
As we came up by train the bus service outside the guest house was very good, we even caught the Coast Liner bus which goes up to Pickering, we then went on the North Yorkshire moors railway to whitby for the day then took the Coast Liner bus back across the moors to York.
The Burswood Guest house is well recomended, but hurry George & Maureen are thinking of retirement.

Room Tip: Just an excellent guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the Burswood in September for a week, whilst touring York and surrounds. The hosts, George and Maureen, were welcoming and obliging in all respects. We stayed in the Orchid Room, which is beautifully appointed, and all fittings and furnishings are luxurious. The breakfast room is delightful and George takes deserved pride in his delicious English breakfasts. The guesthouse is on a main road leadng into York and bus stops are very close. The city is an easy 30 min stroll away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south tyneside
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed over for two nights in the Garden room celebrating a birthday, George and Maureen made us feel really welcome, the room was immaculate with all the comforts needed for our stay and the breakfast was first class, thanks again for a fantastic time. best wishes George and Christine.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend in August 2012 and after a 9 hour trip in heavy traffic up from the westcountry we really needed our guest house to be perfect! It didn't disappoint and neither did the owners! They are welcoming, friendly, but unobtrusive. The room was delightful. Lovely touches like bathrobes, slippers, Denby crockery for tea and coffee, fresh milk etc sets this place well apart from other B&Bs. The room and bathroom were scrupulously clean and fresh, tidy and well maintained. The breakfast is suberb, full of tasty local produce where possible and cooked to order. George and Maureen really make you feel like individually valued guests, rather than just another punter passing through. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone! Mr and Mrs Holland

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have written before about this guest house, which I consider to be among the very best in the UK. On our arrival this month we were warmly greeted as ever by George and Maureen and, on entering our usual room - The Orchid - we were surprised to find it had been refreshed and redecorated. Why surprised? Well, it really didn't need it and was already superior, in terms of decor and furnishings, to most others in similar accommodation. I mentioned this to George and he explained he had refreshed most of the rooms, updating some of ther sanitary ware as well as introducing some brighter, more modern colours to the rooms. In short he and Maureen want to keep Burswood special and at least one step ahead.

George has decided the time has come to sell Burswood. Whoever takes over will inherit a thriving business with a roster of happy, returning visitors. As one such I can only hope his successor will be as good at hosting Burswood as he and Maureen have been and, for the time being still are.

Room Tip: All rooms are charming, but those upstairs have sloping ceilings and very tall guests may prefer a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have stayed at the Burswood on two occasions and on both visits we have felt so relaxed and at home. George and Maureen are the perfect host and have always made our stay so perfect. Room and breakfast excellent. Hate when we have to say GOODBYE!!!
Mr and Mrs Harper

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burswood Guest House

Address: 68 Tadcaster Rd | Dringhouses, York, York YO24 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Burswood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Receive a warm welcome and enjoy a comfortable stay at the Burswood Guest House. All rooms are tastefully decorated with full en-suite and hospitality facilities, some with air conditioning. Set your selves up for the day with our delicious full English breakfast. Just 30 minutes walk from the city centre and visitor attractions. The Burswood has 5 luxury individually furnished rooms. 2 double and 1 twin ground level rooms and 2 double first floor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Burswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burswood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.