We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for a stay in York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friars Rest Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Friars Rest Guest House to your Saves list
Friars Rest Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   81 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 215 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ideal location for a stay in York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

My mum (75) and I stayed for 2 nights at Friars Rest and thoroughly enjoyed it. Friendly, helpful, a good nights sleep, great breakfast and parking included (a necessary for York). An easy walk into York along the river or the bus runs from across the road. Booked over the internet and all responses were prompt and what we were promised we got. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    94
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
63
167
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

lovely and friendly run guest house, delicious full English breakfast, only 10 minute walk to York and its beautiful sights, it was a pleasure to be able to leave the car behind and not worry about car park charges.
only time we used the car was to visit Goathland Yorkshire moors (heartbeat country) and Whitby which both are worth a visit.
would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments on your stay with us recently, we try to look after you from the time you arrive and make your stay as enjoyable as possible, Hope you may stay with again if you come back to York, Take care Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

excellent location, fantastic, comfortable facilities. room spacious and quiet, breakfast lovely, well worth a visit. very good value for money, would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thank you for a fantastic review of your recent stay with us and you lovely comments , we are pleased you liked out free parking and excellent position , take care and hope you may stay with us again in the future .Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We enjoyed a great 3 night break at friars rest,car parked right outside guesthouse, room cosy and clean great breakfast plenty of choice ,just a few minutes riverside stroll into york itself,when we revisit York again we'll have no hesitation in booking here again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
An excellent review, thank you for taking the time to do this, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, take care Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We trawled the internet looking for our 'ideal' B&B and were very happy to discover that we made the right choice. Free carparking, clean and comfortable room, excellent breakfast, free wifi, tea/coffee in the room, come and go as you like, nice freeview TV (tho' a DVD player would have been good), great location within 10 minutes walk of city, friendly people (well we only met Marion). Hard put to find any faults really. It's on a rather busy street and breakfast didn't come with black pudding, which was a disappointment :P
If we ever go back to York, we will stay at the Friars Rest again without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

When we arrived at this guest house we were met by a very friendly lady who showed us to our room. She advised us on the best place to eat, which was an excellent recomendation (The Masion Arms) and was situated only 500 yards from the guest house. In fact the guest house was ideally situated for all Yorks attractions being just a beautiful (even in the pouring rain) 10 minute river side stroll from York town centre and site seeing boats and buses. Both my wife and me would highly recommend this guest house and would not think of anywhre else when staying in York again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
An excellent review, we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay with and hope you may stay with us again, Take Care Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

This was a great location to meet up with a friend travelling up from the South and I was heading from the North. Helpful directions given by the owner. Good breakfast with enough variety on offer. Clean, quiet, comfortable room with en suite and tea/coffee facilities. Pleasant easy walk into York along by the river. Only one night's stay but so much to see and do. I would happily return to the Friars Rest next time I am in York.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, September 25, 2010
Thanks you for you kind comments, I am pleased you really enjoyed your stay with us, We have recently returned from holiday in your country Cyprus and loved it there, especially the weather .!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Friars Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Rest Guest House

Address: 81 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome B&B York. Philip & Sophie welcome you to stay at Friarsrest in York , which is a family run Victorian Guest House, near York centre. We provide comfortable ensuite rooms , well equipped and furnished , all at an affordable price . On arrival you will have a warm welcome, with free parking for your vehicle , while you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Friars Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Rest Guest House Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friars Rest Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.