We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friars Rest Guest House

Save Saved
You added Friars Rest Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Friars Rest Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   81 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 208 York B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on fri 29th+Sat 30th for my birthday away with the family.We found it easy to find and it was about 20 mins upto the town centre walking up on the riverside,the hotel owners were very nice and welcoming,we stayed in a family room which was very nice and it was on the ground floor right at side of the dining room which was brilliant the room was very clean and we had everthing we needed and would definately go back there as it was in a good place not to far from centre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
We do appreciate you taking the time to write in your kind comments about our Guest House. Our family is very comfortable for 4 people to stay in and being on the ground floor has no stairs to climb . We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    78
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
134
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
İstanbul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at Friars Rest when we came to the psychology congress at the University of York. Since it was our first visit to York, we tried to make the best choice by comparing the features and photographs of various hotels and guesthouses on the internet. We were lucky to find Friars Rest! Very lovely people, clean rooms and good breakfast! We recommend you to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay, we are lucky to be in an excellent position to walk into the town centre and also very convenient for the University. We do hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings lynn norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

just got back from a 2 night stay , all staff very friendly , has own car par which is a bonus , breakfast ample , family excellent just enough space and short walk to all yorks attractions .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write in and put such nice comments for your recent stay, we do appreciate it--thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We recently enjoyed a family day out at York races and stayed at The Friars Rest B&B. The owners were lovely and welcoming, the rooms spacious and clean with all facilities needed. It is situated near to the town centre and a taxi cost £5. Breakfast was delicious, cooked to order hot and tasty. We are busy planning a return trip asap.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very clean and tidy and the staff were lovely and helpful. We only stayed one night but would go back to this Guest house again. Close to York, parked in the private car park and was able to leave it there the following day for a small charge which was better than paying £10 in York is self. Breakfast was lovely, too much to eat and drink. We would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our private free car park is always appreciated by our customers, where you can leave your car and take the short river side walk into York's centre. We hope to see you again and thanks for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is the fourth time we've stayed at the Friar's Rest and it's been consistently excellent . The rooms are clean and comfortable and the delicious breakfasts are enough to keep you going until lunch time. We stayed in the same room as the previous reviewer and I am not sure why they said the room was tiny. There was plenty space for two of us with adequate floor space for our large suitcase. The location is great with the town centre only being a 10 minute walk away. We will definitely be back again. Thank you for another lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassobbio, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

a very nice B&B, very kind owners, places in a quite position. We will sure recommend this B&B to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
701728777, Owner at Friars Rest Guest House, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments , we do appreciate it and try hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible , and give good value for money
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friars Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Rest Guest House

Address: 81 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Friars Rest Guest House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Friars Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Rest Guest House Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friars Rest Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.