We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bronte Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bronte Guest House to your Saves list
Bronte Guest House
22 Grosvenor Terrace, York YO30 7AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My family thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights stay and wished we stayed longer. Mick and Mandy are great hosts and are very friendly and welcoming. Our rooms were beautiful in a Victorian house. The location is perfect and is only 8 mins walk from York Minster. The breakfast is delicious. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and did not expect to have fresh towels and bed linens the next day. We would highly recommend this lovely B&B and would definitely come back. Thank you Mick and Mandy and we will see you soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    35
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
162
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Bronte. Mick & Mandy gave honest recommendations which was useful to our stay.
Breakfast kept me full until late afternoon too. Good breakfast options too.

Smaller details count at Bronte. Appreciated the room being tidied each night, top up of toiletries and linen changed.

It's well located to the town centre, and a close walk to the Minster too.

Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Bronte Guest House was excellent. Mick and Mandy were great hosts and made us very welcome. The facilities were first class and the breakfasts were superb. The Guest House is really very convenient for the town center with the Minster only a 7 or 8 minute walk away. We would thoroughly recommend the Bronte Guest House and we will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was my second stay at the Bronte Guest House and on both occasions I was made to feel most welcome by Mick & Mandy. Located on a quiet street within easy walking distance of the city centre, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped, the breakfast excellent and guests are treated as if they belong there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very comfortable room, excellent hosts, excellent breakfast and excellent location for sightseeing! A peaceful nights sleep is guaranteed as it is a quiet street. Mick was very helpful from the moment we stepped through the front door. We highly recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Book early for a front room overlooking park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were delighted with The Bronte Guesthouse from the moment we first arrived. Our hosts Mick and Mandy were welcoming and helpful throughout, advising us on where to eat, etc. Our room was exactly right for me, for as well as a useful wardrobe, there was a spacious dressing table area with plenty of room for all the bits and pieces you accumulate when you are travelling. The 5ft bed was very comfortable with exactly the right sized pillows. The shower room was of good size, with a lovely walk-in shower, and all was spotless, as was the rest of the Guesthouse.Breakfast couldn't be faulted, for as well as the usual 'Full English', there was the 'Continental' option, which I tried one morning, with cheese, ham, croissant and brioche - delicious! The position of the Guesthouse was just right too - our room, although at the front, was very quiet, and overlooked trees and a park. A slow walk of about 10 minutes took us right to the Minster, in the heart of the city, so very convenient.
An added bonus was the fact that we could wheel our cases through a shortcut to the railway station, thus avoiding the expense of a taxi and the long wait in the busy traffic to drive around the city to the station. We did have to negotiate a few steps though, so perhaps not for oversized cases!
All in all, we had a perfect stay, so thank you Mick & Mandy. We would definitely recommend The Bronte to anyone.

Room Tip: Our front room on the 2nd floor was quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Lovely little b&b about 15 mins stroll from city centre, no need for a taxi we walked into the city. Great reccomendation of restaurants from Mick whos as friendly a northerner as you can get.
Cracking breakfast cooked to order. Room was warm n cosy and had everything you wanted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bronte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronte Guest House

Address: 22 Grosvenor Terrace, York YO30 7AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bronte Guest House offers quality accommodation in York, within easy walking distance of the City Centre (5 -7 minutes to York Minster). This site not only demonstrates our commitment to quality accommodation at a competitive price but also demonstrates just how much there is to do and see within our Historic City of York. Our pages are by no means a definitive guide to York, more of a taster. I hope you enjoy the following pages and are enticed enough to stay with the Bronte Guesthouse as we are confident you will find our hospitality and accommodation first rate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bronte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bronte Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.