We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marmadukes Town House Hotel to your Saves list
Marmadukes Town House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-5 St Peters Grove | Bootham, York YO30 6AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in York
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed at marmadukes on 3rd of nov and had a lovely stay do not believe the bad reviews the hotel is very nice as well as all of the staff. I have stayed at The Grange and Churchills in York and Marmadukes is far better and cheaper good value for money.I plan to stay again in January and will be booking very soon and will be taking my friends along with me.The breakfast was lovely too.I have given average for sleep quality only because the people above us decided to get up at 4am put the tv on walkabout in heels and have a loud conversation.The bed comfort was very good and I would have had a very good sleep if other guests could be more considerate.I was in room 505 which was very nice but will request a top floor room next time to avoid any noise from people above.

Room Tip: ask for top floor to avoid noisey neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and commending our breakfast & staff efficiency. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and to compare us in such a positive light to our competitors, this is very reassuring that Marmadukes is going in the right direction. We are looking forward to your return and welcoming your friends to Marmadukes. We hope you have a wonderful Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    241
    107
    63
    30
See reviews for
50
566
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We made a last minute booking to stay in York for an extra day and this was the only vacancy available. Feel it is very overpriced for what you get and having to pay for the car park during your stay in their car park was a disappointment. No toiletries in the bathroom, room 518 up in the gods, which we stayed in had very creaky floorboards and when you sat on the bed you felt you were going to go through the floor with all the creaking! You couldn't get out of bed without waking your partner! Breakfast was nice but disappointing, pot of tea was only Luke warm we had to ask for another and was told it must have been because it was the last out of the ten before refilling! The breakfast room was very cold, you really needed a body warmer or coat on to be comfortable eating breakfast. We had stayed in another b & b the previous night and it was tons better and cost £40 less for the same and free parking in their car park! Needless to say we will not be returning to marmadukes.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I am really sad to see this review and I can only apologise unreservedly for what you have experienced. This is not representative of our standards and I am shocked that you were not provided with toiletries in your bedroom. I wish you had come to see us so we could have given these to you and tried to resolve this at the time.

Car parking is charged at £5 per night which is quite good value compared to other car parks in York. Marmadukes is a very old property and unfortunately it does have uneven flooring and creaks due to the age.

Normally we get commended on our breakfast and again this is not to our standards. I wish you had seen management in the morning so we could have rectified these problems for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Booked this hotel for a romantic getaway and it lived up to it. We had upgraded to a four poster room and it was well worth it. Room 513 was fab. Only very slight negative was the over the bath shower which was in keeping with the roll top bath so don't book this room if you are expecting the latest in power showers but do if you are looking for romantic nostalgia.

Had read some recent reviews which expressed concerns with some staffs attitudes but our experience was the total opposite, they were really pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. Add to that an excellent cooked breakfast and it topped our stay off to a tee.

Would definately recommend and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! You are quite right if you are wanting a shower, then the roll-top bath with shower piece over may not be for you, However we can provide either a full shower over the bath (not roll-top) and we also have rooms with a separate shower cubicle.

If any requests are made at time of booking we always try and allocate these requests and if we are unable to action these requests we would advise you and what your options are.

Me & Fran are in the process of implementing changes to Marmadukes and It is wonderful these are getting noted. We can’t wait to see you back at Marmadukes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our first visit to Marmadukes, a one night stay while visiting family in the City. We have stayed in many hotels in York and will probably select Marmaduke on our next stay. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room (506?) was very comfortable. A good, deep, bath but if you prefer a shower then this is not the room for you. Could not operate the TV, but probably due to ignorance on my part! Car parking needs to be booked in advance but the staff were very helpful in accommodating our car during the day (while we walked into the City from the hotel) and there is free parking on the street after, I think, 5pm. Excellent breakfast (I selected poached egg & smoked salmon on a muffin). Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. The baths here are amazing, especially after a day’s shopping to relax in.
We do have various rooms so we can accommodate request of showers or baths. I’m sorry you had trouble with you TV we would have helped if you was having difficulty. Our breakfast certainly sets you up for the day.
Definitely car parking is advisable to book in advance, off the road parking after 5pm is free but it does get busy quick.
Thank you again for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed two nights in the Loft Suite. Had the breakfast and lunch deal which was very good value for a suite. The bathroom was amazing! Twin showers, double bath and your own private sauna. Bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast good, staff friendly and very helpful. Location is quite close to the minster, about 10 minutes walk, so no need to drive into the city. We had a quick look at two other rooms in case we return on a tighter budget and they were very individual. If you want all rooms to be identical, this is not the hotel for you, but if you want some character and individuality then this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Be specific about what you want, bath or shower; big windows or smaller space as each room is differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Wow! What a wonderful review, Thank you!
I am glad you appreciate our individual style and décor. We are always happy to help with any requests and always try and aim to give the best to our customers.
We can’t wait to see you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a good central location for York. Within a few minutes walk you are in the old centre of the town. There is limited bit sufficient car parking if you have arrived by car.

The staff are very friendly and the breakfasts are great value and well cooked.

The rooms have a period feel. The beds though are not comfortable and due to the nature of the rooms you do hear your neighbours above you. Equally, at an early hour you get the noise of the heating system or something similar so you are not going to get a long nights sleep.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Firstly thank you for your comments; we do appreciate all feedback given to us.

We are one of the few hotels in this area with secure parking but as we try and emphasize that booking in advance is necessary to ensure a car parking space.

The majority of our furnishings are antique to keep within the period of our property which is indeed a Victorian house; you will hear noise as the house at this time of year as it is trying to adjust to the colder temperatures.
The heating systems in both houses are contained within sound proof cellars but we are currently in the process of bleeding all of our radiators which hopefully will resolve any future noise issues.
Thank you once again for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We recently stayed at Marmadukes for two nights, after reading a few reviews I started to get a bit worried. I need not of panicked we arrived to a very friendly reception, we're booked in and given our key card. We stayed in room 508 in the annexe which was very cosy, the bed was one of the most comfy we have stayed. The bathroom is large with a roll top bath, if you prefer a shower I would ask for another room. We found the room to be clean but a lick of paint would cover marks from previous guests. Breakfast was taken in the bright conservatory room and offered cereal/fresh fruit/juice/yogurts/full cooked English/omelettes and much more, it was a great start to the day. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to centre. If you wanted to chill at the hotel you had two lounge areas, one with games and tv and the other a more quiet room to read. Car parking is in the hotel grounds but you my have to leave your keys at reception. All in all a great stay. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmadukes H, General Manager at Marmadukes Town House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Your comments and feedback were wonderful to read. I agree completely some of our rooms are down to be redecorated; we have scheduled this in for the next coming months.

We do have rooms with shower areas and would happily allocate these once requested.

We are looking forward to you returning and welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marmadukes Town House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmadukes Town House Hotel

Address: 4-5 St Peters Grove | Bootham, York YO30 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in York
#12 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmadukes Town House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marmadukes Town House Hotel is a beautiful 4 star AA rated Georgian town house hotel located on the periphery of York city centre.It has free Wi-Fi, a wonderfully light conservatory where breakfast is served daily, a bar, traditional Georgian / Victorian rooms with flat screen TV's and a private garden to the rear.Our luxurious bedrooms are adorned in stylish Italian fabrics and have antique beds with handmade mattresses, desks, wardrobes, telephones and bathrooms with either free standing baths or spacious power showers and complimentary toiletries from Aromatherapy Associates. Marmadukes Town House Hotel is located less than 2 miles from York Barbican Centre and less than 3 miles from both York Railway Station and York University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marmadukes Town House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmadukes York
Marmadukes Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmadukes Town House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.