We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York home for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Raphael Guest House

Save Saved
You added St. Raphael Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Raphael Guest House
44 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 208 York B&B and Inns
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“York home for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent two nights in York and the weather was chilly!! The B & B was warm and cozy! Zoe makes bread for breakfast too good to toast! We could walk to the train station in less the 15 minutes the morning we left for London! We returned our rental car to the train station... that was challenging! We had a great free walking tour from John, but it came with some snow flakes. We took Zoe's tips on dinner spots and really loved them! We'd like to go back when it is warmer and have more time!

Room Tip: The Minister room for a family is nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    46
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
74
322
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
manchester england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over Easter and this B&B suited us perfectly. A lovely short stroll to the centre through the museum gardens, parking included - the car was parked and left for the duration. A great, freshly cooked breakfast, a good room with Zoe providing excellent tips on arrival. When we return to York I will book here rather than looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We wanted to go to York for an Easter break with our two children. We stayed in this superb guest house. We were greeted warmly by Zoe and made to feel at home. The guest house is just a 5 min walk away from all the York attractions. Our room was perfect, clean, very comfortable and with a choice for cooked breakfast in the morning along with a great selection of other breakfast cereals etc. We were woken in the morning by the smell of freshly baked bread which was delicious. There was also the addition of homemade Easter cakes in the hallway which we devoured.This is a great place to stay and we recommend it highly and hope to return again soon. :-)

Room Tip: We had a family room two single beds not a z bed in sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was really a flying stop over, arriving on the Sunday afternoon and leaving the next morning. Whilst Zoe and family were out when we arrived (and the guest house locked up) everything was in place to make sure we gained entry to the House and our room. The first thing that hit me was how spotlessly clean everywhere was, particularly the bedroom and bathroom. I have seen comments on here that said people felt the rooms were small, they are if you want to play football, but for a quick place to rest your head after a night out they are perfect.

However all of that is secondary to the fantastic breakfast that awaits you in the morning, complete with fresh bread. I guess I thought it was a little more expensive than some but it was Bank Holiday weekend and its SO convenient for the centre of town, 5-7 minutes walk at most. I didn't feel I had lost out financially.

Room Tip: Stonegate was a great room. Can't speak for the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This B&B is a lovely one located on a quiet street and located an easy walk from the city centre . Zoe was a wonderful hostess who provided us with all the information we needed to enjoy a wonderful 2 day stay in York. Our room was of decent size and the bed was comfortable. The best part of the B&B is the smell of fresh baked bread wafting up the stairs in the morning and then enjoying that delicious bread at breakfast. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

For the price expected at this guest house you can stay in smart, well-serviced luxury at the Royal York, which is what we did on our second night despite having already pre-paid for two nights at the St Raphael. On arrival there were no staff to receive us and we had to be talked in via a door code over the phone. We did not see a member of the staff until breakfast the next day despite arriving between the notified times for guest arrival. The bed was the hardest and most uncomfortable we have ever experienced and neither of us could sleep in it. There was a street lamp outside the window that was on all night, and the room had virtually transparent cream curtains that didn't even begin to keep the light out. The guest house itself is in need of sprucing up, the entrance hall carpet it stained and there is an odd smell of air freshener or similar which we found quite off putting. It was not until we got into our room that we found a notice that they expected payment in cash! That took the biscuit. Who carries around enough cash to settle up a hotel bill when on a weekend away? Payment by debit card attracted a surcharge that had not been advised to us when we booked despite the assertion of the owner. The owner was perfectly polite and friendly when we did finally set eyes on him and I will not decry the breakfast, but the same money gets you much, much more and much much closer to the centre of the city. It was worth it to us to chuck away the cost of the second night to move somewhere smarter and more comfortable which is about the clearest comment you can make I think.

Room Tip: Pick one in a different guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Our room was nice and comfortable and clean which is the main thing, bathroom quite small but more than suitable for the time spent there. Best thing about this place is the location, about a 10 min walk from the centre in a nice quiet area with decent parking. Lovely breakfast and nice people who leave you to do your own thing, great welcome pack about things to see and places to eat, etc. Had a lovely weekend. The only negative I have really is the price but looking around I think York on the whole is a pricey place to stay and we could have ended up in a lot worse for the price we paid. Overall I would reccomend this place to others as its in a great location and its very clean and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Raphael Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Raphael Guest House

Address: 44 Queen Annes Road | Bootham, York YO30 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 Bedroom Guest House set 400 yards from York Minster, free parking and wi-fi included. All rooms with shower en-suites. Fresh flowers in every room, home made bread baked every morning. Quiet residential cu-de-sac in the heart of the city. Within 10 mins walk to The Theatre Royal , Railway museum, The Shambles, The Art Gallery, and all of Yorks restaurants bars and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Raphael Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Raphael Guest House Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Raphael Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.