We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay would stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of York Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added York Lodge to your Saves list
York Lodge
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   64 Bootham Crescent | Bootham, York YO30 7AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 213 York B&B and Inns
teesside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice stay would stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

i found that taking in the price i paid at york lodge it was value for money the room had everything i needed and the breakfast was very good and filling. The staff were very friendly .The bonus was that i could park outside and was only a short walk from the town centre .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    22
    24
    13
See reviews for
14
32
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

In places in need of redecoration and a thorough clean the main drwbck of this terraced house is the lack of ventilation. Although we could open the window in the bedroom and ensuite, ther is just no draught on a windless day. Not really the owners fault, but unpleasant nontheless. To be fair it looks as if they have tried to redress the problem by putting a large and effective fan in the room , although it probably wou;ld be more effective on the wall. They do , however, have control of the furnture and mine was unconfortably hard = a bed you lie on and not in.. Sleep was therefore long in coming and disturbed.
The sahower is fine, the linen clean, the welcome fine.
Brafast was OK except for the ubiquitous and dreadful tinned tomato and the fact that where we sat was so dark I coludnt read my paper.
Price would have been about right without the above faults. I wouldn't choose to stay here again unless I couldnt get in elsewhere, and certainly not more thjan a couple of night.s

Room Tip: try a lower room for coolness
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I booked this pretty much last minute, but weren't disappointed.
Easy to find from the main road into York and managed to park right outside, parking permit given free too.
Room was clean and bed was comfy. Tea and coffee making facilities available as expected.
Nice little extras like the sweets and biscuits were a welcome sight.
Breakfast was the usual variation of a full English, although was a tad greasy, or there was fruit, cereal and toast etc. The lady who served us was lovely, polite and friendly....However the gentleman who first greeted us and took our payment seemed rather grumpy most of the time.
We probably would stay here again though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

this was a middle priced b&b in york. stayed for 2 nights, would have moved if we could but all b&b we passed were full.

it was clean and the breakfast was ok, the female staff were nice.

our room was a double, ok size but the shower + hand basin were in the room with a small dividing wall. the toilet was in a cupboard. not much privacy.

there was a strong smoke smell which was not nice and you knew when the breakfast was served due to the smell

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights on a study trip. Clean but smelt of smoke. The room was comfortable ( the hole in the door did need fixing though rather than just putting a sticker over it!) enough and breakfast was good. About 15 mins walk to the centre of York.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were booked in here and on arrival were told there was not a twin room as required. We were told that the attic may have twin beds but we probably wouldnt like it as it was up steep stairs. We were later charged £60.00 for a no show by the booking agent. NOT HAPPY

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

We didn't stay here, we walked in and all we could smell was smoke a woman came from the kitchen barefoot and there was a group of people in the kitchen smoking. One of the woman from the back rhen walked through the dining room with a cigarette. The place felt grubby. That was enough.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to York Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Lodge

Address: 64 Bootham Crescent | Bootham, York YO30 7AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — York Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your York Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.