We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Cocktails :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nook

The Nook
3A Castlegate, York, England
+44 1904 627122
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 715 Restaurants in York
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: British, Bar, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: The Nook is a relaxed hideaway, perfect for a fresh cup of slow roasted coffee or a bite to eat from our locally sourced menu. Better still, nestle in and we'll craft your favourite tipple into a delicious cocktail or suggest something new for you to try. Tucked away down a charming street in York city centre, we've got plenty of space for you to spread out with the paper or catch up with friends.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cocktails :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Friday night with a few work colleagues before a retirement do. Between us we managed to work our way through the majority on offer. (we did have a couple of LivingSocial vouchers) The cocktails are reasonaly priced so we stayed on longer than expected. The flavours are fabulous and the quantities of alcohol are favourable, no scrimping here (as i've found in other well known establishments) Two lovely girls on the bar the place is cosy and welcoming, I think the atmosphere will increase as the night goes on or the place becomes more well know. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    17
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Lovely hip and relaxed cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I stumbled across the Nook by accident while taking a shortcut and had lunch there. The cafe has a lovely hip yet relaxed vibe and the food was delicious. Staff were friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Hot drinks came in the kind of mug you can wrap your hands round on a cold day. Highly recommended.

I came here with my baby and there was room for the pram (just), high chair was provided but there was no changing mat in the toilet (because it was very small). A changing mat would have been useful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

After a fab night in the Hotel du Vin, we walked to the Jorvik centre with our 19 month old son. On the way we accidentally came across The Nook and one of the best breakfasts I've ever had out. A perfect bacon sarnie (seriously, perfect) for me and scrambled eggs for her and an off-menu request of sausage and beans for the little one. Drinks were served in good homely mugs and the service was fantastic.
If you live in York, or are just passing through, you should give this place a chance. If the same attention to detail is given to the rest of the menu then this little cafe is a must.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable, tasty and friendly - the perfect cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Visiting The Nook for the first time this weekend was an absolute treat and I'm already looking forward to my next cuppa and cheeky lunchtime treat there! Not to mention the next Friday night I get the chance to drop in on their Open Mic Night and enjoy a cocktail or two with some great music! Great place to relax and enjoy good food and drink :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Came here this evening (Saturday) with our Living Social voucher and had some lovely cocktails. We've been during the day before and enjoyed it then so it was nice to visit in the evening as we'd been looking forward to a weekend cocktail here for a while. Will definitely be back for more.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nook also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.