We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bootham Gardens Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bootham Gardens Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   47 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“York weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ann and Ian are the perfect hosts,they make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive.The accomodation is immaculate and the breakfast is cooked to perfection.I would recommend this guesthouse to friends and family.i have stayed here on 3 occasions now and would go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    37
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
58
177
43
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

this guest house should be called bootham gardens hotel .the warm friendly welcome,buy two of the most nicest people we have met makes you feel really at home.it is immaculate accomodation warm and comfortable beds.lovely breakfast cooked to perfection,I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone .i have stayed 3 times and every time has been just perfect . it is only 10 min walk down the road and you are at the minster.will definately be staying again,you could not find better barbara and hazel x

Room Tip: all the rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

After arriving a little late on Sunday evening,our host(Ian)was waiting to greet us and made us feel very welcome from the start.He showed us to our room which was lovely.The flowers and champagne which I asked for(for my new wife) were waiting as this was our honeymoon and it was a lovely touch.Ian then directed us to a good place to eat(The Hole in the Wall)which was most acceptable.The next morning breakfast was very good and variable.Lots of home made jams and marmalades and from a choice of about 12 cooked breakfasts which were cooked to order to a very high standard.The visitors information in the lounge and the verbal advice from Ian was invaluable in finding our way around York.Not forgetting his lovely wife and friendly staff,they both made this a very enjoyable stay and will definitely return and would highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The building housing the kitchen and rooms was purpose built for the experience. This makes this more of a hotel experience than a homey B&B experience. This is not necessarily bad, just different. The place was very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts excellent. One's experience with the hosts will vary with situations but ours was enjoyable. Though off street parking is available, it is very tight and you may find it necessary to ask another person to move their car so that you can get out. Though this is a residential street, there is some significant traffic noise during the night. It did not bother us but may be a problem for others. If so, ask for a room away from the street. Value is good. My overall rating is above average but I don't think it qualifies as excellent as we did stay at better places in the same price range during our 3 weeks in Britain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay, great access for all York attractions, just a 10 minute walk into town. Friendly and helpful hosts, great breakfasts, clean rooms, what more could you want? Will definitely stay here the next time we are in York

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bootham Gardens B&B for 4 nights in early June and found the breakfasts were as varied and well cooked as Ian’s literature beforehand had indicated. There was an excellent choice, of cereals, fresh fruit, cooked food and wonderful breads too. It was also exactly 10 minutes walk to the Minster, as stated, and has parking for all guests. A real bonus being so close to the centre of York where parking is at a premium, if you can find it at all!

However, there were a number of issues we had not anticipated from the literature we had read prior to our arrival! There is no towel rail in the bathroom of any description. Only 4 small hooks on which to hang your sometimes damp towels which were then taken away and either fresh ones left, or dried for you, I am unsure which was the case with ours. Also, the 2 small shelves in the bathroom are inaccessible and set at a height of approx 6 feet so that, despite being 5ft 6ins myself, I had to go on tiptoe to house anything on them. Also one of them is over the toilet so that I was constantly worrying something would fall and cause damage to the sanitary ware. There is no bathroom cabinet, nor vanity unit either, nor anywhere near the sink at hand height on which to place anything. Additionally the cord switch for the heater over the door has been tied up over the top of the door, making it almost impossible to use!

The room was adequate, if a little dark, as the only window was somewhat small, plus the bed was not the most comfortable we have slept in. My husband in particular felt that the mattress was rather past its best and suffered consequently.

Unfortunately we did not enjoy the privacy we had anticipated either. Ian’s literature states that the B&B accommodation is in a separate building to the Owner’s house, which is indeed the case, so that guests can enjoy their own space and come and go as they wish. However, this was most definitely not the case! Upon our return in the late afternoons Ian would be out in the courtyard area every day so that on occasions, we had to go into our bedroom to have a drink of tea and a cake in private, which was not ideal.

Breakfast was from 8-8.45 a.m. – rather earlier than we would have liked and one was most definitely not encouraged to linger talking with other guests. One morning when we did so with an American couple Ian (without asking anyone if they minded) opened both the patio door and the opposite window where we were having breakfast. It was only 9 a.m. on a sunny, but distinctly chilly morning and he hovered between us clearly wanting to “get on” and have his guests out of the way so he could do so. It was far too early in the day to be made to feel that one should really be off out already. Many things in York don’t even open until 10 a.m. and in the case of The Treasurers House (where we were going that day) not until 11 a.m.

All-in-all this is an establishment that, with a different attitude from the Proprietor could be much improved. The food is wonderful but when one is made to feel “in the way” it does NOT encourage return business. I would not stay here again, nor recommend anyone I know do so which is rather a shame. It has things that recommend it, but they are outweighed by the disadvantages of being made to feel unwelcome.

Room Tip: Nowhere near the kitchen which unfortunately we were next door too! Re-setting for breakfast occurs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by Ian who has a wealth of local knowledge, he presented us with a map of york and pointed out things to do and places to see. Before going anywhere it's worthwhile taking a look at the garden around the back of the house (a great place to sit with a glass of wine and chill out with Ian and Anne)
The rooms are clean and comfortable with beds so big you can get lost in them and have everything you need including free WiFi.
The breakfast menu is huge with a choice you'd expect in a high end restaurant, the quality of ingredients is first class and cooked to perfection.
Ian and Anne have a passion for their guest house and it shows, they go the extra mile and more.
We wil definitely be booking here again.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bootham Gardens Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bootham Gardens Guesthouse

Address: 47 Bootham Crescent, York YO30 7AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bootham Gardens Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners since Oct 2014. Modern Purpose built guesthouse, Clean & Fresh. Award winning breakfast. City centre location only 5 minutes from the York Minster. Free car park. New Luxury 1500 Pocket sprung beds. Super fast WI-FI. Computer suite. All Mod Cons. Friendly Welcome. The property is separate so you are not in our home. Come and go as you please. Very well insulated and soundproofed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bootham Gardens Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bootham Gardens Guesthouse Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bootham Gardens Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.