We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing break :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goldsmiths Guest House

Goldsmiths Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Goldsmiths Guest House to your Saves list
Goldsmiths Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   18 Longfield Terrace | Bootham, York YO30 7DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed in early December, welcomed by George, gave us lots of info about the area, it was just a short lovely walk to the beautiful old streets of York. The rooms were lovely and clean, breakfast were great, set you up for the day!! A real find, we will definitely use again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of goldsmiths ,we appreciate any feedback from our guests,i am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and i look forward to seeing you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
50
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed here for a weekend in late December with my boyfriend for my birthday.
We were welcomed by Geoerge, he gave us a map and showed us how to walk to the city centre which is only a 5 minute walk and it's beautiful.
The room was lovely and warm, it had a hairdryer (Great I forgot mine) fresh towels and toiletries every day. A fridge and a kettle with tea, coffee and hot chocolate.
The breakfasts were beautiful, my boyfriend doesn't usually like eggs but he loved Susan's scrambled eggs on toast! On my birthday I found a lovely bottle of wine in the room (Thank you). It was great value, £70 per night in a double room. Very friendly, breakfast was a bit early for a weekend (8-9) but we were up early to explore and shop anyway.
Thank you George and Susan, great hosts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our guest house Sian we really appreciate it and glad you enjoyed your stay in york , if you decide to visit again we would be very pleased to see you and you can have have your breakfast a bit later if you want.
Susan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We arrived at Goldsmiths and were welcomed by George. The rooms were very clean and the breakfasts were superbly cooked by chef Susan. We had a great time, the guest house is well placed and we will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
thank you very much Fiona for your review of our guest house we appreciate guests taking the time to write about us, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. This peaceful guesthouse is ideal for anyone that wants to be just outside the hussle and bustle of York whilst only a lovely 5 minute along the river to it.
The parking is great and very handy as York parking is expensive. The room we were in was light, spacious and very clean. Nice touches such as dvd's and wine glasses with cork screw in the room were also appreciated.
Finally, the breakfasts are lovely and hearty and set you up for the entire day.
If you are visiting York, then Goldsmiths is a real find!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
thank you very much Gareth for your review we do appreciate you taking time time to write about our guest house , we are glad you enjoyed your visit to york and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

An Older Home with a great location. A place to park and be able to walk to all the downtown. The Goldsmiths made us feel right at home and started our day off with a very good meal. Room was very clean and comfortable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write a review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my husband really enjoyed our stay for 2 nights, the guesthouse is well positioned with a lovely 5 minute walk along the river into town. The room was clean, towels and cups were replaced daily and the breakfast was lovely. The breakfast was early being 8-9am especially on the Sunday but as early risers this didn't bother us and was worth getting up for. Sue cooked a lovely breakfast and Alex was a good waiter. My only niggle was that our bedroom door was tried at 10am whilst I was in a towel and my husband was showering and check out wasn't till 10.30am and we clearly hadn't given our keys in. The door was then knocked to 'check' we were still there ? Hoovering outside our room at 9am also felt a bit like being pushed out ?? It was great to park outside as parking in York is a nightmare and my niggle was redeemed as were able to leave our car there for an extra couple of hours for a last wander around the town. It was a nice place to stay and for a couples weekend it was great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golds, Owner at Goldsmiths Guest House, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
thank you for taking the trouble to write your review, we are very sorry that alex came to your room at 10am he obviously thought that you had left , i take on board your comments about our hoovering practices and we have now changed our routine and are hoovering when all guests have checked out, i am glad that everything else was ok and if you return to york i hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goldsmiths Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsmiths Guest House

Address: 18 Longfield Terrace | Bootham, York YO30 7DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldsmiths Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Goldsmiths Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldsmiths Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.