We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saxon House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Saxon House to your Saves list
The Saxon House
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   71/73 Fulford Road | Fishergate, York YO10 4BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 215 York B&B and Inns
south yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprise Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband booked us a stay at the Saxon as a birthday surprise, because of the time of year we were told there was no problem checking in early. So we arrived at our destination at around 9.30am and parked up ( where our car stayed all weekend) which was great. A very friendly welcome from the hosts, who showed us to our room and gave us all the information we needed. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The new owners have decided to do continental breakfast, which was lovely with a wide choice of fruit, bread cheeses, hams and yoghurts, oh and cereal, which you helped yourself to, though there was someone on hand to check everything was alright.
Overall we were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our stay. Would definately book again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    49
    34
    31
    17
See reviews for
18
108
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

stayed in the annexe part of the saxon house shown to it by the lady and was very impressed she had also left us with wine bread milk and other necessaties it really is well decorated and all the fittings of a high standard and the rooms spacious and also a proper tv and sky tele very good.just a little negative my party had also booked two rooms in the main hotel and said the rooms could of done with sprucing up but that didnt dampen our stay.

Room Tip: book the annexe if theres a few couples staying or a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We booked The Saxon House for a 1 night stopover to watch snooker at The Barbican. Very helpful lady and nice room. A large old converted house, so don't expect all mod-cons. Comfy bed, tea and coffee and a lovely breakfast ... possibly the best bacon I've tasted for a long while. Lady owner gave us map, expert directions to the Barbican and suggested we eat that evening at the Masons Arms (lovely pub grub ... try it). Also very helpful with directions to the National Railway Museum via the river footpath. We enjoyed our short stay there and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the house so no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked a short stay as a surprise for our cousins from Ireland. We wanted it to be special for a number of reasons & The Saxon House did not disappoint. Check in was smooth, the apartment was spotless, lovely & warm, beautifully fitted out (modern contemporary style), great sized bedrooms, breakfast pack, fizz & chocs (for b'day). Had a fantastic time in York itself, so many amazing places to visit & the accommodation was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed four nights in October in the self catering flat. It was perfect, lovely decor, clean and modern and a great place to stay if you want to be independent. No rushing up for breakfast and you can just stay in all day and relax if you want! Food provided for breakfast was good and lasted all four days, cereal, bread, yoghurts, juice etc. we did cook a couple if times in the evening which made a nice change to having to eat out every night and we proved the smoke alarms work very effectively! A great location too just by a bus stop, but also walkable into the city. I think people should note most of the negative reviews on here are very old, so I guess can be ignored ! I would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Booked into the Saxon house 22/10/2013 for an overnight stay. On booking in we was greeted by the owner/ lady who was great, friendly and very helpful. We confirmed this booking was for our honeymoon and was given a nice bottle of red wine. We was also given pamphlets on what we could do whilst in York. Our room was at the top (3rd floor) and was great. Parking to the rear of the building can be rather tight but if you think about it these buildings were built in the 1800's so don't have a go at the owners they can't add anymore land. It's ample enough!! We had a brilliant overnight stay here and chatting with the lady over breakfast she told us the history of the property (it's huge inside) breakfast is just what you need. Full English and a cup of tea or coffee. As well as cereal if you want. Once we'd finished our full English we was asked if we'd like anything else. Nice touch that. Didn't feel like we had to eat and move on like so many B&Bs around the UK. We will be staying here again next year. First time in York for my wife & I and we loved everything about it. We will be booking back into the Saxon again. Take it from me. Forget reading reviews they can put you off. Try it and make your own mind up its what we use to do before "Trip advisor"

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good points - Great location just a few minutes walk into York. Our room was at the back so not too noisy, and we had a parking space without problems.
Bad points - The bed was very uncomfortable, the top sheet was torn, the bathroom sink despite not being obviously blocked was giving out a permanent bad odour, the land lady was quite jolly with us but we did witness her obvious irritation with another guest and in front of all other breakfast diners too. Breakfast table a bit grubby even before we had eaten. Would not go back and would not recommend. Sorry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saxon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saxon House

Address: 71/73 Fulford Road | Fishergate, York YO10 4BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 215 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saxon House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Saxon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saxon House Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saxon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.