We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midway House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Midway House to your Saves list
Midway House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Ely
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a brilliant break in York and could not have found a better place to stay. The location was ideal to walk into the centre and there was a bus stop opposite as well. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Annette and Ian obviously take pride in what they do and go out of their way for their guests. Ian was a font of information and breakfast was certainly worth getting up for and Annette ensured it ran smoothly. When we return to York we just hope there is a vacancy as we would not consider looking anywhere else. Recommend? Absolutely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    18
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
85
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

York in the weekend is busy and we left our booking until late so there wasn't a lot left to choose from at a decent price. We chose Midway house because it had free parking and could accommodate myself and husband and my mother in a seperate room. The owners were very friendly and helpful telling us about the area and providing us with maps etc. The breakfast was good and the service was very friendly and efficient. The room itself was dated and the bed linen was old but it was clean. We had the room that had a shared bathroom out in the hall way and this did not bother us as we knew what we were booking when we booked it. The bathroom was very clean. It was a decent walk into town but buses go past that take you directly into the city. Next time we go to York we will make sure to be more prepared to give us a wider choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

As with all my other revues i will be as honest as i can we stayed on the 21st of September for two nights.As always there are always good points and bad points to any hotel/B&B and as with my other revues i will start with the bad points first.

Bad Points
1. In my opinion there are no bad points with this B&B .
Good Points.
1. This B&B is spotless throughout and a credit to the cleaning staff.
2. If all the bed rooms are of the same size as ours they are more than big enough with a
good sized bathroom ,both rooms have central heating and are very warm.
3. A warm welcome from both land lord and land lady who both have a good knowledge of
where to visit and how to get there.
4. An excellent breakfast in fact it ranks as one of the best we have had.
5. An extensive range of leaflets for information where to go and what to do not only in York
but also in the surrounding area.
6. Plenty of parking space.
Area.
The B&B is on the main road into York (A19) this makes it very easy to find but there is a
lot of road noise. As me and my wife dont mind walking we never used our car or any
public transport or taxis so i cant tell you how much they cost, we simply walked down by
the river to get into town (between1-2 miles ) .The paths on both sides of the river are
tarmacked so no slutch to bother about and they are also will lit at night.
If you have never been to York before the center is fairly compact and with narrow
winding streets full of shops,cafes and pubs ,there is also a large ish market as well it is
easy to get lost but thats part of the fun just pick up the booklet about York from the B&B
it has a street map in the middle.
There are way to many attractions to mention again plenty of information back at the B&B
be warned though there is a entrance charge for the museums and even the Minster
(except the railway museum thats free).
If you are fit enough to walk round there is nowhere in York that you will need to use public
transport or your car for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mablethorpe
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

we had a brilliant stay could not have found a more friendly or comfortable place, it was like home from home.breakfast was excellent, nothing was to much trouble,excellent bus service into town.ian and annette were brilliant hosts,would recomend this accommodation to anyone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our 4 day break in York was very enjoyable, not least because we had absolutely no problems or concerns with our accommodation at Midway House, which was clean, comfortable and backed by a level of care and attention which we couldn't fault. Ian and Annette were attentive to our needs, provided great breakfasts and had an excellent knowledge of the area and its attractions. The location is ideal with an easy walk into the city, or frequent buses close by, and once we'd tried The Plough at Fulford, a few minutes walk away and recommended by Annette, the question of where to eat in the evening was solved!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time at Midway House in York! Ian and Annett were perfect hosts who took care to make our stay as good as possible. The B&B is a very comfortable place where you can relax after a day of sight-seeing in York! Everything is absolutely clean and you can make tea or coffee in your room. The breakfast was very tasty and just as we imagined an "english breakfast".
We highly recommend Midway House for a nice and relaxing stay in York and we hope to come back and stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a family run establishment with a truly welcoming atmosphere, then this is the place for you.

The owners are kind and conscientious. Annette greeted us on arrival with a smile and gave us the full low down on what to see and do in town. Her always smiling, helpful attitude was maintained throughout our stay and this was matched by her husband, Ian, and their son.

The location is somewhere between a 20-30 minute walk from town. If you are comfortable with the distance, the riverbank route is very beautiful and well worth the stroll.

The room was clean and well appointed with an excellent en suite. It had been recently redecorated and we felt very at home there. The bed was firm but comfortable.

My girlfriend and I are not normally the earliest of risers, but the relatively early breakfasts made us pack our days with joyous things. The food was simple, high quality fare. Ian cooked it to a very high standard, shunning the trap that many B&Bs fall into of drowning it in grease. In addition, they dealt with our special dietary requirements (coeliac & vegetarian) with minimal fuss and maximum accommodation.

All in all I would recommend this B&B to anyone planning a visit to York. They are lovely hosts who could probably run a course on customer service for other hoteliers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway House

Address: 145 Fulford Road, York YO10 4HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Midway House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Late Victorian Villa, standing in it's own grounds with a large car-park for up to 14 cars. Resident owners Annette & Ian have over thirteen year's experience and have won three York Tourism Awards during their period of ownership. We have a great selection of en-suite rooms including Ground Floor, Doubles, Twins, Family, Four Poster and Triples all maintained to the highest standards and cleanliness and care are of continuing importance.We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and have a Visit England breakfast award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Midway House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midway House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.