We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Useful location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthorseman

Save Saved
You added Lighthorseman to your Saves list
Lighthorseman
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lighthorseman
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   124 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 208 York B&B and Inns
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Useful location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Lying just an 8 minute walk from the city walls, near Clifforde Tower and the magnificent Castle museum, this is a good location for an overnight stay in York. The welcome was warm and the room, though small, appeared clean, with good bedding and a bathroom. However, the room was far from clean and the mattresses awful. On the plus side we never heard any noise from the bar, traffic on the busy road or customers leaving later from the bar. There was plenty of safe parking, and we were invited to leave the car there while we had a few more hours in the city, after checking out. Breakfast was good, with exceptionally fresh, perfectly poached eggs! Value for money? I think we have to accept that everywhere in York is pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    44
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
10
93
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this b&b for 2 nights and found the b&b to be in a good location and only a short walk from the centre of York. In the rooms, the beds were very uncomfortable and in the bathroom, there is a saniflow system that has a really unpleasant smell when showering and flushing the toilet which we could smell in the bedroom. We found the landlord to be pleasant and helpful with giving us directions and information but found the landlady to be quite rude. The b&b was reasonably priced but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthorseman, Owner at Lighthorseman, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We are sorry that you felt our establishment was not what you expected, and feel that your comments related to your stay are due to the fact that the landlady had to ask you not to come downstairs to breakfast in your Pyjamas, without even a dressing gown.

Some of our guests complained about you not being dressed as they were here with their husbands and found the situation most embarassing.

I think you will find that most establishments do have a dress code and this should be adhered to

Steve & Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My daughter & I stayed at The Priory Guest House which is opposite this pub. We dined in the Italian Restaurant for both nights of our stay & the food was excellent. The staff were most obliging & allowed us to take in our two small dogs which was a bonus Highly recommended !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of this pub is ideal - just a short (and lovely) stroll into town, walking along the river. Staff were friendly, especially the restaurant staff when we dined in one evening, who kept checking whether we were happy with the food (we were - bit rich, but huge portions).

The rooms we had were clean and had all we needed, including comfy beds and a tv with plenty of channels, but my bathroom had a bit of a nasty smell when I first entered it. I had to make sure to keep the bathroom door closed at all times. The smell did get less strong after I had flushed the toilet a number of times.

I can't really fault the place but for one thing: I had a bad first night's sleep because of the incessant noise from the road. It was fine the night after as I had purchased ear plugs in the meantime - but then my friend (who slept on the other side of the landing) didn't sleep a wink because of people talking till very late in the beer garden. In all, this place has a lot going for it, but having ear plugs with you can make all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I booked 2 night's at The Lighthorseman based on Tripadvisor reviews.

Location
Only 10 minutes walk from York city centre, this pub is on the main road but has free off road parking. There is a good choice of restaurants on your walk into York.

Room
We had room 4, a super king bed. Simply furnished but clean. Towels were a bit old. TV a bit small. Bed was very comfy but the traffic noise did keep us awake. Ask for room 1 or 2 to get a non-road facing room.

Bathroom
Bathroom fine but a bit chilly. A towel rack and extra shelf would improve.

Breakfast
A tasty, well cooked breakfast with attentive waitress.

We didn't come into contact much with the owners.

It was just ok for us but a good base to explore York from.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is our second visit to the Lighthorseman, and we had a great time.

We never met Janine the landlady on our first visit, but she was ever bit as friendly as the reports say and made us feel genuinely welcome.

The food is just fab, the breakfast was really good. We we also ate in the restaurant one of the evenings, the chef & waiter were really interested to know if you enjoyed the food, which is refreshing to see, most places couldn't care less. The food is excellent, as it was last time we visited, and good value, so thank you. If you stay here give it a try you really won't be disappointed.

As others have said no issue with parking, we were off to Hallowscream and it is good to not to be worrying about being able to park when you return.

We stayed in a larger room last time we visited, but in fairness we had booked a smaller room and to be honest it was still bigger than some other places we've stayed in York.

Would definitely return.

Thanks
HEC

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthorseman, Owner at Lighthorseman, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
So pleased that you had a lovely stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you and look forward to your 3rd visit with us.

Many thanks

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The room was basic, bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Just one gripe, it was rather cold when we were in York and the heating was not on when required, example before breakfast and just after evening meal (before bed), therefore the room was a bit chilly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthorseman, Owner at Lighthorseman, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, it was at that funny time of year with the heating, but we do take your comments on board, and would look forward to you visiting us again.

Kind regards

Janine & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lighthorseman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthorseman

Address: 124 Fulford Road, York YO10 4BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthorseman 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Lighthorseman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthorseman Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthorseman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.