We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre bargain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast

Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   17 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“City centre bargain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I needed reasonably priced room for the night close to The National Railway Museum prior to attending a function the following day. Initially, I found the Bar Conventr based on price and location and it ticked all the boxes on paper.

I regularly stay away on business and the first priority is always to get a good nights sleep. Now, as it's name implies, the Bar Convent is a working convent that sports a large ornate and fully operational clock tower which chimes every 15 minutes. I was beginning to lose the will to live given the prospect of being woken every ¼ hour throughout the night, but the clock was set to stop chiming at 9.30pm and I enjoyed a first class night's sleep. The bed single bed was comfortable and the en suite recently refurbished to a high standard. All in all, very satisfactory.

The Bar Convent is essentially a Bed & Breakfast establishment rather than a hotel and doesn't have a restaurant or bar. Having said that, there is a cafe within the premises where the most delicious breakfasts are served. The cafe is open to the public during the day.

Within 5 - 10 minutes walk there is a great selection of eateries, pubs, clubs etc., both chain and independent. I ate in a real ale pub, 'Thomas of York' which was great and reviewed elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    52
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
24
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Adequate accommodation in a convenient location. Clean, but lacking in some basics such as bedside tables. Pillows had seen better days. No croissants available at breakfast and no attempt was made to apologise. No black teabags available in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for somewhere different from bland, chain hotels, then this is you place. I recently stayed here and found the welcome and service received was faultless. Ideally suited for the city centre and close to railway station.
Room had all I needed. I had a room without en suite, but no distance to loo or shower. Nice suprise though to find a tv lounge and kitchen area to prepare your own meals.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was booked in here by The Quilters Guild whilst attending a meeting at the Quilt Museum in York. I stayed in St Pauls which was a double room with a wash basin in the room and a shower and loo en suite.
Everywhere was extremely clean, the bed very comfortable, the breakfast excellent. Staff helpful.
It was a peaceful haven though a colleague with a room facing the road did find it noisy at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Surrey, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the St. Ignatius room. Although not large, this has a comfortable double bed plus a single bed with a modern en suite shower and WC and was clean and warm. The only snag was that the sash window was tricky to open.The full English breakfast in the café in the hotel was delicious and excellent value. The cooked lunches were also of a very high standard. It is a pity that dinner is not available! All the staff were really friendly and efficient and we felt very at home. The hotel is very convenient for sight-seeing in York.

Room Tip: When booking, check if your room has en suite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a lovely lunch here. Ingredients were really fresh and a nice selection to choose from whether you are wanting a light bite or a cooked meal. The surroundings are lovely too and I'm going to make sure I have a look around the museum next time I'm in York!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were staying over the road at the Premier Inn but ate breakfast here two days as the good folks on this site mentioned you can get gluten free food here. That's certainly true and we had two of the best breakfasts we have had. The first morning we had two poached eggs on gluten free toast which came garnished and with extra toast. The next morning we had the breakfast special which consisted of bacon, two poached eggs, mushrooms and tomato with a rosti and we had a side order of toast. The prices are very reasonable, service is friendly, the café is very pleasant and clean and overlooks a lovely, secluded garden. We are saving the gluten free cakes for a treat next time as we intend to be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Convent b&b
Bar Convent Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Convent Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.