We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeyfields

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abbeyfields to your Saves list
Abbeyfields
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Stockport, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Faultless.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Just returned from a fabulous 3 night break at Abbeyfields and it is all that the previous reviews have described. We asked for room 9 at the top of the house and got a lovely cozy room with a view of the Minster (lit up at night). Facilities superb; en-suite with all toiletries provided, plenty of drawer and hanging space, fresh flowers in the room, very comfy bed, exceptionally clean. Dining room is beautiful, top quality breakfast with a choice of everything you could possibly wish for (including the freshly baked bread - 3 varieties!). Best places to eat out in the evenings are the pubs, most serve decent food all day, best probably the Royal Oak but busy at peak times. Genuine 5 minute stroll to the City Centre. Highly recommended, can't see how it could be improved.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    56
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
43
432
88
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

A warm welcome awaits you at No 19. The guest house is immaculate, the breakfast excellent and the location perfect. Nice touches from high quality bathroom products, lit candles in the dining room at breakfast and of course the freshly baked bread at breakfast.

It is the owners though, that make this a great place to stay, and I will definitely return.

  • Liked — Warm and friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

From the moment we arrived, everything about this place was wonderful. We visit York every year at christmas time & have stayed in quite a few B & B's, this was by far the best. The location is great, 5 minutes walk into the centre of York, in fact close to everything. Our room was lovely, with tea/coffee/water & biccies in the room, which were plentiful. There was also an information folder which is a great help, recommending places to visit & places to eat. Breakfast was fantastic with a great choice. The attention to detail is just fantastic. I look forward to going back next year when I'm sure it will be number 1 on Trip Advisor. You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Absolutely everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

We stayed for two nights at AbbeyFields Guest house in York and from the moment we were met at the door by Allan, we were made to feel welcome,our room was first class and everything you could want was provided.An excellent choice of breakfasts are available to cater for all tastes. the locality means it is only a couple of mins walk from the town centre so once the car is parked you can forget it, which for me was a good thing.Our hosts gave excellent advice on what to see,where to eat etc, this has been our third visit to York and by far our best , many thanks to Allan & Al

  • Liked — Everything was perfect
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

We have just got back from Abbeyfields and wanted to say what a fantastic time we had at the guesthouse and in York itself.

Abbeyfields is truly wonderful and the hosts, Les and Al, are lovely people who make you feel very welcome and are a mine of information about the area, and what to do and where to go in York. They cook a lovely breakfast too; the fresh home baked bread each morning is a treat. They really have made a huge effort to ensure their guests have everything they need for a wonderful stay and at very reasonable prices.

York itself is fantastic and there is loads to do: the Minster, York Castle Museum, Ghost Walks, Jorvik Centre, great shopping, etc, etc. And there are lots of great pubs and restaurants, which offer some lovely food; we ate in Oscars and The Hole in the Wall, which both offered great food at great prices. Try the Snickleways pub at about 9.30 – 10.00 pm on a Monday evening and you are likely to get to hear the York Male Voice choir give an impromptu sing song as they sing for their supper. Really lovely.

The North York Moors are awe inspiring and need to be seen in order to appreciate just how much space there is in some parts of England. A delight at any time of year.

All in all we had a wonderful few days and would thoroughly recommend both York and Abbeyfields to anyone.

  • Liked — Closeness to the centre of York and excellent service received
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

Thank you for a lovely stay at Abbey Fields 17th - 19th of November 2008. Excellent food,
Excellent room, Excellent hospitality, Excellent location. We will definately be returning next year!!!

Mr and Mrs Moore

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Islay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend in York. This was our first visit and we were very happy with both our accommodation and the service we received at Abbeyfields. Les and Al go out of their way to make their guests feel at home and are a mine of useful information about what to see and do in York. We took their advice on visitor attractions and restaurants and were not disappointed. One of the great plus points is Abbeyfields location - it is within easy walking distance of the centre of the old town, the Minster, museums, shops and restaurants. We were delighted not to have to use our car for the three days of our stay and free parking was available right outside the house. Don't be put off by the proximity of the railway line - we were not aware of a single train passing.

  • Liked — The friendly and welcoming atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbeyfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyfields

Address: 19 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbeyfields 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to the aroma of warm, freshly-made, home-baked breads! Just 5 min stroll through historic Museum Gardens into heart of York. Quiet street. Own parking. All 8 rooms en-suite, spacious, tastefully decorated, and welcoming with fresh flowers. Original large sash windows provide light and air. A truly beautiful Grade II listed Victorian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abbeyfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyfields Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeyfields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.