We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and traditional B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 23 St. Mary's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 23 St. Mary's to your Saves list
23 St. Mary's
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   23 St Mary's | Bootham, York YO30 7DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 216 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Warm and traditional B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at 23 St Mary's for a training event in York, and had a very pleasant time. The house has a traditional, Victorian-style decor which may not be to your personal taste - but don't be put off! 23 has everything you would want in a B&B. The room I had was comfortable and clean with a modern, recently-refurbished bathroom. The road outside is very quiet, so you get a good night's sleep. The hosts are friendly and welcoming, and will offer help with finding your way around, attractions, maps etc. The breakfast was stunning, an absolute feast of eggs, bacon, sausage, tomato, beans, hash browns, black pudding, mushrooms AND fried bread! (Don't bother with toast, you won't fit it in :-) The little snack and drink selection with honesty box in the hallway is a clever idea and provided some welcome post-pub crisps.
It's 10 minutes max from the Minster and the middle of town, and great value.
I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: The upper rooms do entail a fair climb up some steep stairs, so if you're infirm and don't c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    57
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
120
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for three nights, for what was a business trip for me and a holiday for him. So we had a different timetable and different requirements, and found Chris and Julie always helpful and accommodating. Great location, lovely house, and we felt really pampered. Shall certainly go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our second stay. Quite convenient to the train station, if you know the shortcut. If arriving by train, ask for walking directions. Very close to the wall, Minster, and Shambles. Very comfortable room. Great breakfast. Highly recommend. Owners very friendly and helpful. Several negative comments from earlier clients, most of the complaints the fault of client, not facility.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I managed to book into 23 St.Marys over NYE at the last minute, what a stroke of luck, our stay was for 3 nights, we stayed in the four poster bedroom, lovely room, classical , antique furniture. The room was large, lovely comfy bed, large bathroom, lots and lots of tea and coffee making goodies with complimentary biscuits , not your usual 2 cups and your done. Lovely and warm room, quiet location with just a 5 minute walk to the minster. Julie was the perfect host, couldn't do enough for us, Chris cooks a fantastic breakfast, the scrambled eggs are to die for, we were even offered Buck's Fizz at breakfast New Year's Day. Lovely finishing touches to the whole place, even a snack box and mini drinks fridge with an honesty box. All in all what a lovely stay, I cannot see me staying anywhere else in York , can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Really pleased we booked this. The location is excellent with off street parking and only a few minutes walk to town. The house was beautifully decorated for Christmas, our room was very comfortable and there was even a complimentary mince pie each!
The owners were really friendly and we have no hesitation in recommending this to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in room three at the back of the house. Quiet and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were made to feel like that we were an inconvenience to the owner and were not welcome because we arrived later than we indicated online. Owner interviewed us prior to giving us our room key. Room was hot and window would not open more than an inch or two. Internet was not strong enough to reach the room, but was accessible in the lobby. Room was nicely decorated but toilet was not flushing properly. Street is in walking distance of town attractions. Breakfast in the morning looked very nice but I was too upset about the rude welcome to actually eat it so I do not know how it tasted. We will not return nor recommend this inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for about three days and very much enjoyed my stay there. The rooms were comfortable, the owners friendly, and the location was excellent. The walk to town was quick and easy and it was also easy to get to from the train station. A very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 23 St. Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 St. Mary's

Address: 23 St Mary's | Bootham, York YO30 7DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 23 St. Mary's 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Victorian townhouse centrally located being only a short stroll from both the rail station and City centre. Individually decorated rooms with antiques throughout. A hearty breakfast will be served by Chris and Julie to start your day perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your 23 St. Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 St. Mary`s Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 23 St. Mary's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.