We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Goa

Viva Goa
7 Fossgate, York, England
01904622688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 716 Restaurants in York
Price range: $20 - $23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place is great for something different, not just the typical tikka or masala rubbish, the south Indian home style dishes were great and the sauces are to die for! Good service and unbelievably inexpensive. Definitely recommend, it was good to see an Indian restaurant trying new things instead of just what English Indian restaurants usually do and they do lunch time. Will definitely be eating here again! YUM!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    30
    18
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Not good at all.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This visit was by way of a change late one night, as time was running out and it was to far to visit our usual Indian restaurant. We had a very warm welcome with very knowledgeable and friendly staff. But that is where the tale takes a turn for the worse! The food is dire! My friend had the chicken balti, and I had the shashlik lamb. The chicken was dry, and tasteless and the lamb, was so tough I nearly got lockjaw trying to chew it lol! I don't know if this was just a bad night the at the Viva Goa, but take my advice if you crave really good Goan, food try the Coconut Lagoon, in Clarence street instead.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“best indian in York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

went tonight had 8.95 3 course special, wife needed gluten free, everything was fine, ordered meal and they ask how hot you want it , was fresh and tasty will go again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I came across this restaurant by pure chance , i am so glad i ate here, friendly service with a genuine smile . The food was delicious & as previous comments truly different with tastes for all palates...
So glad i ate here & i will return on my next visit to york.
Thankyou you guys for the lovely food, service and friendly smiles.
Susan

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Indian (Goan) in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I recently frequented with my wife. We happened upon this place by chance ...what a find! The food was excellent, the atmosphere was great, they have a full extensive gluten free menu and cooked things for us not on their standard menu. The food far exceeded our expectations and Metron ("The Nurse") looked after us as if we were his long lost family. It was a real pleasure to eat in an Indian restaurant which is not just Vindaloo & lager. We fully recommend this place ..
Andy M

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Goa also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Viva Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.