We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, budget price, good value, guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Annes Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Queen Annes Guest House to your Saves list
Queen Annes Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Queen Annes Rd | Bootham, York YO30 7AH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 216 York B&B and Inns
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Friendly, budget price, good value, guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Nice, friendly and relaxed place to stay. Rooms clean, toilet and shower room immaculate. Rooms nice and warm. No frills bed and breakfast, but great value for money. As mentioned, plenty tea and coffee, quiet street and ideally placed for visiting York centre. Beds very comfortable and breakfast perfectly adequate. Kindly allowed us to leave bags while we spent morning in York, to have us carrying them around. Hope to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    49
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
25
92
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed Wed & Thur nights Owners friendly, Quite road, 5 min walk from The Minster, with some private parking. If you stay in rooms 7, 8 &10 it is actually in the house next door and its not been knocked though, so it's a real bind having to walk next door for breakfast.
At breakfast very minimal choices available, 1 glass of readily poured orange juice, 3 cereals, fried breakfast and that's it, no gutten free, or veggie choice. Owner was very attentive to the degree of taking the plate away whilst still eating toast. Room 8 we stayed in was clean and adequate, plenty of tea & coffee facilities. Bottom of wardrobe door was broken, on suite clean, plenty of hot water, although the shower is small, ok if you shower stood still and don't turn or bend in it. We paid £50 per night B&B on a deal, the advertised rate is £70 per night and I'd say not worth it

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenanneYork, Owner at Queen Annes Guest House, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Sorry to hear that you felt this way about Queen Anne's.

At breakfast we have muesli, weetabix, corn flakes, porridge and bran flakes. We always offer extra toast, tea, coffee and fresh orange juice. I also have lactose free milk on standby. We always have gluten free bread available and also vegetarian sausages and hash browns to go with the eggs tomato, beans and mushrooms. It clearly states vegetarian option on the large menu board in the dining room. If you didn't notice it all you had to do was ask.
We will never just clear a table if you appear to be still eating as this is rude. And as you stated yourself we are friendly and attentive.
I wasn't aware of any issue with the wardrobe so thank you for bringing it to my attention, had you mentioned it whilst here I would have done my utmost to repair any such fault.
As for walking next door for breakfast it takes 10 seconds extra than if the dining room was in the same house. In which all other guests are perfectly happy to do.
We graciously allowed you to park your car here after check out so you didn't have to pay for car parking in the city centre.
On returning for your car later you did ask to make a future booking with us, although you wanted it for a reduced rate. Which I did reduce for you but not as much as you would have liked.
So to sum this review up, I feel that if I had let you pay the cheap offer rate that you had brazenly asked for on your return visit then, your review would have been much better than this nit picking review you have submitted.

All the best for the future

Phil Queen Anne's York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had booked this via Groupon and you never quite know what you are going to find. We were very pleasantly surprised . We initially had a small confusion over the room size as we had taken our five year old daughter. The owner quickly remedied this while we were out taking in the sights so when we returned all was in order. So we cannot fault the customer service.The room was very clean and tidy and the more than sufficient for our need. The street it is placed on is extremely quiet and despite being at the front of the property we heard nothing and enjoyed two very peaceful night sleeps. The breakfasts were good and well cooked. Overall highly recommended. Which is lucky as my partner has brought the same deal for her parents.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aughton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on 11th and 12th April. Lovely B&B in a fantastic location for York centre, just a short walk through the beautiful museum gadens. Our room was modern and clean. Had breakfast both mornings and food was good. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. We had a bit of car trouble at the end of our stay and the owner Phil was beyond helpful even after we'd checked out. Would highly recommend staying here, great value for money :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a Wowcher deal. Concern this may mean lower standards were totally unfounded as we had a nice bright, clean room (No.8 on 2nd floor in the house next door-No.26) with a very comfortable double bed. The corner shower cubicle was a bit small (but then this is not an hotel) and towels were changed daily and the bed made up. Four Yorkshire tea bags and four Nescafe "tubes" with eight milk "jigger pots" and sugar sachets, replenished each day, was a nice touch- double the amount you get in a Travelodge!. The breakfast (taken at the main house No.28) was perfectly cooked, with cereal beforehand if required, along with orange juice and tea or coffee. The owners, Phil and Teresa were friendly and welcoming and the location is perfect being only 5-10 minutes to Bootham Bar (that's a 14th C. gatehouse not a pub incidentally), passing a Sainsbury's Local halfway if you want sweets etc and then York Minster is a few hundred yards beyond the gateway. Parking on street is free with a permit from the owners, but if you are tempted to take up Phil's offer of off-street parking be sure you are good at reversing and know the width of your car as the lane to the parking area is narrow - or let Phil park it for you - he's done it before!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We arrived at guest house on 8th April 2014 early afternoon to a nice cheery welcome from young gentleman, he showed us up to our room, explained times for breakfast. Room was immaculate, beds comfortable, bathroom clean, plenty of room for 3 person.
Came for breakfast both mornings of our stay, welcomed by owner, breakfast was excellent, best scrambled eggs ever.
Highly recommend this guest house, ideal location, excellent breakfast, owners very welcoming and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We visited Queen Anne guest house in York with some friends over the weekend of 28 to 30 March. Very good guest house. Location excellent. Food good and accommodation very comfortable and clean. Phil and his staff were very hospitable nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Annes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Annes Guest House

Address: 24 Queen Annes Rd | Bootham, York YO30 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Annes Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queen Annes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Annes Guest House Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Annes Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.