We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great birthday meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le cochon aveugle

Le cochon aveugle
37 Walmgate | YO1 9TX, York, England
+44 1904 640222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 716 Restaurants in York
Price range: $47 - $47
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small French style restaurant with a 6 course tasting menu, using locally grown and sourced ingredients, creating modernized classic French dishes.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thanks for a great birthday meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were lucky enough to be able to book the entire place for this year's birthday night out. The set menu was worked through in advanced with chef to best fit the group and every dish was excellent. Really fun but elegant setting with the under crackers as ceiling garnish. Disappointed only to read the ill informed fois gras related reviews of late, the owners' response says it all, not all fois gras involves force feeding. Now I know that will probably give it a try next time, have always (calmly..) given it a wide birth.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    13
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great concept and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

One of the most unusual restaurants I have ever visited. It is tiny (only 14 covers the night we ate there), the style of the room is unusual (the loo particularly so) but the food is great. A very simple and straightforward selection, all French, but the quality is great. Wine list is simple as well and all wine is available by the glass, carafe and bottle. The pricing was sensible as well and overall it is well worth a return visit. A great addition to the York restaurant scene.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Just had a very lovely evening here - the food was delicious, atmosphere great and service personable. We didn't have starters but enjoyed a good bottle of red, mains and desserts. The only thing that stops this being a five-star review is was thatmy cassoulet was a little dry and my companion enjoyed - but wasn't amazed by - their pudding. We also regret not having the fondue to start, but that's our problem!

Like others, we enjoyed sitting with another couple. We'll definitely be back, and look forward to bringing friends too!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting reading material and decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have eaten here a couple of times now, and being a sister restaurant to the Blind Swine we knew to expect something a little bit different. We also knew to expect great food and service. The uncomplicated menu and wine selection and friendly attentive (but not over bearing) service ensures this will be somewhere we we visit regularly. The food is always special and there is always something a little unexpected served as an amuse, the black pudding macaroons that we were served were just amazing. The unusual decor and even more interesting reading material on the tables only add to the experience, already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“bras and photo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had fantastic snails followed by a great steak and the best lemon tart in the world.

My guest spent their time taking photos of this very individualistic restaurant layout; we all loved the very attentive service with great food

Try it as we only have three visits to go to now in YORK

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le cochon aveugle also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
Nun Monkton, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Le cochon aveugle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le cochon aveugle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.