We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dining room and staff...and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whippet Inn

The Whippet Inn
15 North Street, York YO1 6JD, England
+44 1904 500660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 716 Restaurants in York
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Welcome to the Whippet Inn, York's only Steak and Alehouse.We have raised a few eyebrows with our name, and many have said that our interior is certainly quirky if not a little risqué, all of which we love as we want to be unique and fun.When it comes to the food and drinks we serve however; we are very serious about that. our main aim was to get the best food produce we could find in Yorkshire and then pair it with real ales, lagers, spirits and wines from around Great Britain.Yorkshire beef is our thing offering you 28 day or 40 day aged beef but we have something for everyone, be it brunch, lunch, dinner or just a drink in our bar.All this is delivered with down to earth homely Yorkshire hospitality.Adults Only AtmosphereWhile we love young children and are in the process of raising a hand-full of them, our little Restaurant & Bar features Adult Dining only.From the suggestions of our friends and family we have tried to create something a little different to what’s on offer by the high street chains.I'm sure that we will upset some people with our choice but when that rare day comes when you can get a little me time, we might be forgiven...
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely dining room and staff...and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really impressed.,we were a group of 5 post-wedding and not expecting too much but the welcome of the staff, knowledgeable and warm meant that we really enjoyed our lunch. Roast beef, fish pie, good wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    133
    49
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fabulous steak, amazing G&T sorbet and excellent service. Highly recommended....and the wine choice was great too. Would definitely visit again....if only I loved in York.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best food and drink in York!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We could not recommend this restaurant enough! This was our first trip to York and after being utterly blown away by this historical city, we had dinner that evening in the Whippet Inn, which just made York feel like it kept on giving.

This fabulous quirky restaurant with its opulent decor was a delight and certainly a conversation starter! The starters were sensational, followed by faultless main dinners (we had a chicken dish and one of their renowned 40 day aged steaks, which certainly didn't disappoint). This was by far one of the best meals we've had in a long time. The staff were attentive and provided excellent service throughout our meal. Their extensive gin list was the perfect partner to the food and there is no need to be a connoisseur as the waiter was happy to provide knowledge on what to choose! Would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked a table in the private dining room complete with padded walls and quirky pictures. We had excellent service all night, relaxed atmosphere but professional waiter who knew what he was talking about. Great food, steaks were wonderful. Can't recommend enough for a great night out with friends. Will definterly be back!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

They squeezed us in without a booking on the last Friday of half term. We had some gorgeous olives & decent bread before two magnificent dry aged fillet. Beautiful sauces & sides. The service was very good & sincere. A great little place, deservedly popular. Brilliant.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whippet Inn also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Whippet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whippet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.