We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant

Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant
63A Goodramgate | York, York YO 1 7 LS, England
+44 1904 624677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 656 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kent
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Must do !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Excellent food, great staff reasonable prices. Might be worth booking during busy periods. We got in on a Saturday night but had the last table for a while.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    81
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff. Tasty food. We had the meat and vegetarian thali and wine. Choice was good and the spicing just right.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

What can I say, the food was immense! Had the Aloo Sum and Lamb Mono starters, beautiful flavours! The next course the Everest Lamb and Lamb curry, the lamb just melted in the mouth. Couldn't recommend it any more and staff were very accommodating and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“saturday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

well what a surprise ,we just went on the spur of the moment for lunch today ,there was only about 3 other couples in , the staff were very nice and friendly ,
we were given a menu each ,there wasn't a lot of choice to be fair and at this point we were undecided if we wanted to eat here ,we did stay ,I ordered pakora to start my partner had pork dumplins .they were both really nice ,for our mains I had chicken soup this was so nice really fresh tasting .my partner ordered prawn curry ,it was really nice presented and tasted really good , the place wasn't anything grand but the food was of a good standard ,we both said we would like to go again soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was intrigued to try Nepalese food and I was not disappointed. The food and service was excellent, I would defiantly recommend the Yak and Yeti

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.