We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a bit different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant

Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant
63A Goodramgate | York, York YO 1 7 LS, England
+44 1904 624677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 656 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Asian, Nepali
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Something a bit different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I'd never eaten Nepalese food before so wasn't really sure what to expect. You could easily miss this place and we chanced upon it quite by accident on an away weekend supporting a poor football team. The staff were quite lovely, the decor and seating a little odd but that was quite quirky and not a problem. All 5 of us loved the food including an adventurous youngster. The portions were fine, the timings spot on. I cannot compare with other Nepalese food as I've never tasted it before but it made a welcome change from 'Indian' or 'Chinese' and as I plan to come back to York later in the year I plan to go to this restaurant again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    81
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've eaten more interesting Nepalese food in both south and north west London and, to be honest, the food here seemed a little tired and ordinary. I agree, on the whole, with what "paymonger" says about this restaurant although I found the portions more than generous. The staff were welcoming and courteous and the wine we chose - a Sauvignon from Chile - was excellent & reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not Yeti Up To Scratch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a quiet, clean and tidy noshery with charming and efficient staff but in general it is not yet up to scratch. The food, some of which was greasy, didn’t taste too bad but it was not served hot enough and the portions were a bit on the mean side! The Mo Mos were stodgy and cold.
The small metal dishes used for serving the food are fine for serving but to be given one to eat off of is not on - they are far too small and the scrapping noise of cutlery on metal dish is teeth curling and annoying!
With fine tuning this place could be a very good alternative to standard Asian nosheries but is isn’t yet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor Value, Slow but Charming Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went to try out with husband, felt the décor was quite tacky, the 'momos' recommended on here were big lumps of thick under steamed suet but the filling delicious. The Beef ranged from dry and solid to 10% of it well cooked - but took a lot of chewing. The inclusive meal was poor quality. The lovely people doing the serving deserved a better product to put on the table.

I really wanted to like it, but I was disappointed and we waited a full hour for our mains to arrive. It wasn't full so it should not take that long to get a meal.

Not for me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty, authentic alternative - try it!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We don't live in York but have a holiday home business here and are frequent visitors. The restaurant is fairly new and we didn't know what to expect but wanted something different and authentic so thought we'd give it a go. It was Sunday night so fairly quiet but we are glad we came. Authentic, lovely tasty food and really friendly service. Not as hot as an indian curry, spicier than a Chinese. Dumpling and king prawn to start with beef stir fry and lamb casserole with veg fried rice to follow. No frills just good food and beer. Feel like we are in Nepal not York. If you want to get back to basics and enjoy authentic food give it a go!!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yak and Yeti Gurkha Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.