We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHINESE RESTAURANT CLIFTON MOOR YORK THE BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mulan Cantonese Restaurant

The Mulan Cantonese Restaurant
Unit 2 Tower Court, Oakdale Road | Clifton Moor, York YO30 4WL, England
01904692268
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 712 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Newcastle United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“CHINESE RESTAURANT CLIFTON MOOR YORK THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Wow, the food is amazing. The staff make you feel like you are so important. The environment is stunning. Price perfect. your wish is their delight The furniture is so beautiful. I have traveled all over the world and this is in my top 3 restaurants. .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    21
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top class chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Me and my wife go on a regular basis the food is excellant good choices good price & brilliant staff makes a lovely dining experiance you will not be dissapointed it is one of the best believe me Brian & Barbara Fall.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good takeout”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We only went in to order a takeaway and have a drink at the bar. We were greeted quite abruptly by the lady behind the bar, barking at us "do we know what we want". Well no, we didnt know not without looking at a menu! first time we had been in since the takeover. Anyway we had a really nice pint of stella 4% and a glass of wine served in really nice glasses. Food was overall lovely, my hoi sin duck was average but everything else was nice. First impression of the new restaurant was a good one-although it really is bright in there! would go back and try the beef fillet next time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent new Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Called in after the pictures 6.30pm on a Sunday night. One other table occupied at that time. Food was great, service brilliant and the staff very friendly. Has had a recent over haul and is now clean, new furniture etc and some nice lights down the windows. Will definately be calling again, hopefully some more tables will be occupied to create a better atmosphere.
Nice to see the food served in unusual shaped pots for a chinese, not the usual dishes placed on a warming plate.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best Chinese Restaurant in YORK.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

After 6 evening visits, one lunch visit and one take-away in the last two months we have never been disappointed with the food and service at this first class Restaurant. The food is truly excellent and well above the standard we would expect in a regional Cantonese venue. Service is equally good and the smart new decor very pleasant. Overall the pricing is most reasonable and the Banqueting menus offer superb value. The wonderfully priced, £5.50 lunch menu offers the same standard of cuisine and service and is efficiently served without giving a feeling of being rushed. This was today's treat but we will be back with a birthday party in two days for the "full works"! If these high standards and great value are maintained the Mulan will become a very popular eatery and others, like ourselves, will find it to be the Best Chinese Restaurant in YORK!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mulan Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Mulan Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mulan Cantonese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.