We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linnies York B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Linnies York B&B to your Saves list
Linnies York B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   53 Fountayne Street, York YO31 8HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 213 York B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Thoroughly lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for just one night but wished we could have stayed longer! We can't fault the room, breakfast, service or location of Linnies; it was just wonderful. It was so nice to feel so at home, unlike in a chain hotel where it can be quite impersonal. Our stay at Linnies made our weekend and we would definitely go back if we visit York again.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms which makes it very nice and personal - we stayed in the double room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteeVeeDee, Owner at Linnies York B&B, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
What a lovely couple and proof positive that students aren't all bad :)
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay alongside our first set of retourning guests that weekend. Hope you manage to make it back down to us in 2013 and good luck in your exams!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for a night in October and we were really impressed. Nothing was too much trouble for Linnie and Steve. It a beautiful house and the tea and homemade cake to welcome us was much appreciated. We stayed in the en-suite room which was immaculate. The B&B is only a 10 minute into York city centre.If you are looking for a nice little break with a scrumptious breakfast in York with home comforts thrown in you can’t go wrong at Linnies,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Myself and my wife have just had a fantastic weekend in York where we stayed with Linnie and Steve in what we can only describe as the best B&B we've ever stayed at. From the moment we knocked on the front door till the day left we could not complain about a single aspect of our stay.
Our hosts were friendly, welcoming,attentive and interesting, their home is beautiful throughout and is full of interesting features from top to bottom. Our room with ensuite was excellent and dressed to an excellent standard. If you're thinking of visiting York definitely try Linnies rather than a non descript hotel chain where people don't interact with you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteeVeeDee, Owner at Linnies York B&B, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for a very positive review- we are glad that you both enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again sometime soon. PS. Hope you cach the right train first time next time : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Linnies for 1 night with my mum. We found the stay enjoyable and relaxing and nothing seemed too much trouble. We went to York centre on the night and it's only a short bus ride to the centre. Breakfast was lovely and loved the little touches of detail around the house. The check out time was really great and both Linnie and Steve tailored the service to our needs. Loved the dogs of course! Thanks again x x Sally and Carol

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteeVeeDee, Owner at Linnies York B&B, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Many thanks for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We aim for the relaxed atmosphere- glad you found it so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hi just to let everyone know how welcoming this beautiful guest house and owners are.
Its got beautiful furnishings and curios and shows attention to detail in every room.
The owners are so warm and friendly and cant do enough for you.
Rooms were gorgeous and the breakfast beautifully presented. We are here again at the end of November.

Room Tip: Linnie has two rooms one with the bathroom at the side of the bedroom and another ensuite room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteeVeeDee, Owner at Linnies York B&B, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Many thanks for the positive review. We like our artifacts and scour antiques shops and car boots to look for them. It's nice to share them with people who appreciate them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Wish we had been staying for longer - Lynn and Steve have a lovely home full of character. They were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very comfortable had everything we could want along with some nice little extra touches. Accommodation was spotlessly clean throughout. The atmosphere at breakfast was cosy and relaxing and the food was delicious. Would highly recommend this B&B especially for those who love home comforts and relaxed surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteeVeeDee, Owner at Linnies York B&B, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for the very positive review. Linnie was particularly pleased with the 'spotless' comment as keeping an old Victorian house clean is a real battle! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at Linnies Sat 27th October 2012 - in the super en-suite room - Arrived about 4.30 and was greeted by Linnie and Steve the owners and Doogle and Bella their nutty poodle dogs - ha so lovely - didnt want to leave. Linnie and Steve are full of tales and travels - could have listened for ever. Their home is lovely abit like aladins cave - amazing taste and nic nacs - they had the proper victorian fire on when we arrived and Linnie had done some home baking - which my companion decided to sample (I was saving myself as we went to Jamies at nite). Had a marvellous choice at breakfast - from yogurt,cereal to full english which was amazing - proper home cooked breakfast !! and unlimited tea and coffee/juice. I highly recommend Linnies (and Steves) fantastic couple and nothings too much trouble. If I go back to York ill be giving them a call. Thanks for your hospitality! Your an amazing couple and love your dogs. x Tracy

Room Tip: Go for the top room - its got a roll-over bath with a starlight view - not theres much time for a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteeVeeDee, Owner at Linnies York B&B, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Linnie and I are very please that our very first review is a five star! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Linnies York B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnies York B&B

Address: 53 Fountayne Street, York YO31 8HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linnies York B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnies is an original 3 story Victorian house retaining many period features including working fireplaces that are lit on colder days. Antiques, grandfather clocks and other curiosities fill the rooms making it a warm and comfortable environment. We only let 2 luxury bedrooms for your privacy making Linnies a quieter more personal experience than some larger establishments. Full English breakfast is included in the price. Car parking available only 3 minutes’ walk away. Sited near York hospital it is an easy 10 minute stroll from Linnies to the city centre along Gillygate with its many restaurants and cafe bars and on through Bootham gateway in the city walls up to York Minster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Linnies York B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linnies York B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.