We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Tour de France” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint George's Keep

Saint George's Keep
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Saint George's Keep to your Saves list
Saint George's Keep
23 Clifford Street, York YO1 9RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 37 Specialty Lodging in York
Bang Lamung, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for Tour de France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked this accommodation about 6 months ago to make sure we had a prime location for the Tour de France roll out through York. The location was perfect and we had a VIP view of the riders as they passed by Clifford's Tower. The apartment is modern, clean and well laid out with a nice kitchen area, living space, bathroom and two good sized bedrooms.
The owners really made the trip special with a Tour de France welcome pack in addition to all the normal goodies provided. Given the increased activity in York ahead of the Grand Depart we were happy to note that there was no the noise reported by other guests.
Overall we had a great week staying at Saint George's Keep and recommend this location to anyone wishing to vacation in York.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la123_12, Manager at Saint George's Keep, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the great review, glad you had a nice time in York, the Tour De France was excellent.

Hope to see you again, if you decide to visit York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Location wise these apartments are great - just a few minutes walk from Clifford's Tower, the centre of York and the river. Downside is that there can be a lot of people noise late at night, particularly Friday and Saturday nights.

The apartments themselves are very well appointed. Kitchen is well stocked with essentials such as coffee, tea, olive oil, cling film and foil, not to mention a good selection of cooking utensils, pots and pans. There was also a 'goody basket' which was a lovely touch!

A bonus for me was secure storage for bicycles although this was in the basement and required some navigation of steps. There was also space to dry a tent out but I guess that won't be a requirement for many people!

Only saw the owner once and they were very friendly and helpful.

Enjoyed our time at St George's Keep and would certainly return for another visit. I would however mark it down on value for money as I have stayed in other apartments of similar quality for less, although location could justify a bit of the higher price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgk2014, Owner at Saint George's Keep, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your review, glad you had a nice time, hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed in the Fairfax apartment for the weekend and weren't disappointed. From the welcome hamper to the robes and slippers we were happy, plus the late check out which was great since our train home wasn't until the evening. York is a beautiful city and staying at st George's keep has made it easier for me to say we will definitely be back!!! My only complaint would be that there was no toiletaries in the bathroom and was only one toilet roll which ran out quickly with 4 guests. These are minor things so don't want to detract from how great this apartment was. Fab!!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgk2014, Owner at Saint George's Keep, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you, glad you had a lovely time. Apologies regarding the toiletries
And extra toilet rolls, this was an oversight on our part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a great time staying at Saint Georges Keep apartment over Easter, great location ,clean, tastefully decorated,comfortable & the welcome pack was a great touch with Easter eggs for the kids ,the kids loved the table tennis table in the basement too. York is a great city to explore and enjoy. On departure we could leave our luggage in the apartment so we could still enjoy our last day. Less than a 15 min walk to the station so you don't have to bring the car and get ripped off by the car parking charges ! I would recommend these apartments and im a bit fussy where i stay.It is a bit noisy at night but it is to be accepted given the central city location don t let this put you off staying in these lovely apartments.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgk2014, Manager at Saint George's Keep, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed here for 3 nights as a base to discover York, the Dales, Moors and the coast. The apartments are in a central location a few minutes walk to the city centre, pubs, cafe's, restaurants, shops and the river. They are only a 5 minute walk to long and short term parking, at 11.50 pounds per day.
The major problem staying here was the noise as it is on a busy road and opposite a fire station !! So getting some sleep was a major problem as there was no double glazing and I put pillows and blankets up against the windows and wore earplugs to try and lock out the noise. There is stairs and lift to the upper floors and also a very strange smell in these areas.

We were in a 2nd floor, 2 bedroom apartment at the front of the building, which was very hot as it had no air conditioning and we could not open the windows at night due to the noise.
The unit was basic and clean and the bedrooms were small, the beds were comfortable.
The bathroom was small but clean and basic toiletries were supplied.
The kitchen was well equipped and a breakfast welcome pack was supplied, the sitting area was also basic with TV and sofa.
We found out on the day we left there was a washing machine in the basement which was not mentioned in the information file.
Checking in to get your apartment key is also quite difficult, other had the same problem.
Free Wi Fi is also available.
These apartments are in a good location but not worth the lack of sleep to stay here due to the noise.

Room Tip: Very noisy apartments due to busy road and opposite the Fire Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la123_12, Owner at Saint George's Keep, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear of your problem with noise, we do have double glazing and have since insulated all the vents with special acoustic insulation to narrow the noise, we also have heavy curtain linings and curtains. We are city centre, so unfortunately if you are not used to abit of noise, you may think it is noisy. However, most of our guests do not even mention the noise.

With regards, to the Fire Station, they are moving premises shortly, but I would just like to say that it is very unlikely that they put the sirens on, at a late hour.

Due to our good old british weather, air conditioning is not normally necessary, last year, was a very hot year, and we have now bought some oscillating fans, in case this year will be just as nice, fingers crossed!

We have also changed the checking in system, which has proved easier to use.

Again, thank you for your review, and you will see we have made some improvements, we do value your opinions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed over a long weekend and the apartment was perfect. Very clean, comfortable and well furnished. A welcome pack was a lovely surprise. We were able to get in early and leave luggage for a later departure which was very helpful. Would recommend these apartments and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

These apartments truly are a home from home, dressing gowns, slipper and welcome hamper and the most comfortable bed I’ve slept in for a while! It has a great central location with only a 15 minute walk from the train station. The apartment was fresh and modern, it can be a wee bit noisy in the evening but as previous people had said, this is to be expected given the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saint George's Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George's Keep

Address: 23 Clifford Street, York YO1 9RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Specialty Lodging in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Saint George's Keep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint George's Keep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.