We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shambles Kitchen

Shambles Kitchen
28 Shambles | York YO1 7LX, York YO1 7LX, England (Formerly Xing)
+44 1904 674684
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 656 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Our specialty is our succulent Pulled Pork sandwich. It's cooked overnight, rested for 1 hour and served quick-sharp to avoid drying out. It's served in a soft, warm, sour dough bun with zingy slaw. Come between 11am and 3pm to avoid missing out on it. Due to the small size of the shop, we sell lots to takeaway. If the few seats are full, it doesn't take long for a space to become available. All our food is made on site, from scratch - including one vegan soup each day as well toasted wraps and veggie juices. Oh, and we set up smoothie bars in schools with our profits. It's fast food. But not as you know it.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Great little place in the Shambles area. Found it on Trip Advisor and wanted a vegetarian lunch. Shared the cauliflower almond soup and the Cajun halloumi wrapini for 8 GBP. Both were delicious. Great friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Cheers Nathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    41
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely sandwiches and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Made a quick stop at this very friendly cafe. Juices and smoothies were very good and the pulled pork sandwich was just delicious. Wish we had a cafe like this near our home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks very much. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungloe, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I went in here because of the greats reviews and I was sadly disappointed. I didn't think the food was up to the reviews and I also felt it was overpriced. I wouldn't go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Tea £1.30
Organic coffee £1.50
Reg Smoothie £2.95
Freshly prepared soup £3.50.
Reg Juice £3.80
Toasted wraps £4.20
Pulled Pork in sour dough bun £5.50

Everything is made from scratch, on site, from fresh ingredients. We refuse to compromise on quality. I think we do a good job keeping our prices down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Look no further for a quick bite! And healthy too...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Decided to stop at Shambles Kitchen having read glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and can confirm this is a place to visit when in York. The mouthwatering selection of wraps and sandwiches, exciting choice of freshly squeezed juices and smoothies coupled with the friendliest staff and great atmosphere - you don't need to look any further. There's hardly any sitting space but if you are lucky to grab a table, you'll enjoy watching locals pop in for a snack and a chat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for the great review. Really pleased you liked the atmosphere. We've got a great group working at the moment. A really genuine bunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy and healthy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Love it here!! Such delicious food and smoothies. Member of the FB page where they daily post 'secret whisperings' to get free/reduced soups, stews and smoothies. Delicioussss!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks a million! Glad you like the facebook page. We try to keep it worth liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shambles Kitchen also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Shambles Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shambles Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.