We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shambles Kitchen

Shambles Kitchen
28 Shambles | York YO1 7LX, York YO1 7LX, England (Formerly Xing)
+44 1904 674684
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 715 Restaurants in York
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Our specialty is our succulent Pulled Pork sandwich. It's cooked for 12 hours, rested for 1 hour and served quick-sharp to avoid drying out. It's served in a soft, warm, sour dough bun with crunchy, zingy slaw. Come between 11am and 3pm to avoid missing out on it. All our food is made on site, from scratch - including one vegan soup each day as well toasted wraps and veggie juices. We set up smoothie bars in schools with our profits. It's fast food. But not as you know it.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We both ordered a 16 hour slow cooked pulled pork roll. As it sounded so delious and it did not disappoint. The rolls are soft and white and were dipped in the jus. The meat was really delicious the coleslaw ended a extra crunch.
The dining area is quite small but this adds to the quirkiness of the cafe. The staff are friendly. 10% of their profits go towards school kitchens, which is a great cause!!! Pity we do not live closer as we would definitely be a regular visitor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review. Glad you liked the bread. It's been an effort to improve it.

On the schools front, we now have 20 bars in schools - run by the students. We couldn't do it without the support of our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    30
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I would just like to say thank you for the lovely lunch! The jerk chicken wrap was to die for and the smoothie was zingy and refreshing! Very good customer service and good value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks very much Sophie. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stuff ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We both had the bbq pulled pork which was very tender and thoroughly enjoyed. I was a bit sceptical on the juices but bit the bullet and gave one a go it turned out to be very nice and the other half decided to try a smoothie after seeing mine. Just need to learn how to do the pork for my work sandwiches. The staff were very friendly and made to feel welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks for the great review. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Shambles review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Chose to eat at the Shambles kitchen because of the rave reviews on trip advisor. Came away feeling decidedly disappointed. I had the pulled pork sanwhich, the pork and sauce was very bland, the pork had almost disintegrated into the sauce, the bread was an uninspiring white sliced bap of generic origin.

Staff friendly and as many have said very small eating area where we were all squashed up.

Sorry to say I won't be making a return visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Gutted you had an average experience at the shop. It's certainly not what we're about. We were stretched to the limits this St Nicholas Fayre weekend - the busiest weekend of the year in York. And our busiest of the 4 years here.

The pulled pork is slow cooked for 16 hours which poses a real challenge. Whilst we had enough meat cooked over night, the problem came reheating the meat quicker than normal, to keep up with demand. The stress of the extra heat can cause the meat to lose its form a bit. That's why the traditional fast food model of freezer to fryer is so prevalent. We're determined to find a better way. There's no excuse for it being bland though. It won't be again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great staff, great food, great location.. Everything about shambles kitchen is spot on! Must visit when in York, can't recommend enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonLong1, Owner at Shambles Kitchen, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Aww, thanks for the ace review. Really pleased you appreciate what we're doing. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shambles Kitchen also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Shambles Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shambles Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.