We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cupcakes ever tasted!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crumbs Cupcakery

Crumbs Cupcakery
10 College Street, York YO1 7JF, England
+44 1904 638282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 671 restaurants in York
Price range: $2 - $2
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Crumbs Cupcakery is an independant cupcake shop and tea room located right behind the magnificent York Minster. We bake all of our cakes fresh every day and have around 10-12 different flavours daily! We also have gluten free cupcakes every day too! Come and say hello and relax in our beautifully decorated vintage inspired tea room in a secret little haven area of York!
York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes ever tasted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Cute and cosy little cupcake shop in the historic centre of the city. Plenty of choice in terms of flavour, with a traditional 'classics' menu supplemented by specials of the day (of which one was 'banoffee' - amazing taste!). The cupcakes themselves were amazing - light and airy with not too sickly icing, and the decoration of the cafe fit perfectly with the location and ambience. A great place to stop for a mid afternoon treat!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    108
    21
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice mid morning break - would recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Decided to try this place based on the reviews we had read. It is a relatively small shop with lots of character. The server was exceptionally pleasant. Large variety of cupcakes and they are very tasty. They have paid attention to the decor. They have gone for the country shabby chic interior and it works perfectly. We would return

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is adorable :) so cute and the service was fantastic ! The cupcakes are to die for :) I will be returning on many occasions

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely little shop. More flavour would make it amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous little cake shop! Very clean, nicely decorated and lovely friendly staff. As a keen baker I was looking forward to tasting the cupcakes!
I bought two cupcakes; a caramel.and an 'american' (chocolate and peanut butter!)
Both were lovely but could do with more flavour. The chocolate was lost by the peanut butter in the American which was a shame and the caramel one tasted like a vanilla sponge with a few fudgey/toffee pieces on the top. All the cupcakes looked lovely and the decoration and presentation is perfect it's just a shame that they don't give the punch of flavour.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best cupcakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

love everything about this place,the location is beautiful,cupcakes are delicious,can't wait to go back :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crumbs Cupcakery also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Crumbs Cupcakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crumbs Cupcakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.