We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar with good music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gibson's Bar

Gibson's Bar
129 Micklegate, York YO1 6LB, England
44 7803 959999
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 47 Nightlife in York
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
bucks
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good bar with good music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Although York has many bars/pubs a lot of them are full of students or cosy real ale places. Gibson's is a bit different, there is a good mix of people and a good atmosphere. The cocktails are good value and we got free shots too. Friendly staff, good music and reasonably priced drinks. What more could you want?

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing rock bar :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Not your typical dirty crazy rock bar, quite the opposite in fact. Great music, a wide selection of cheap drinks (including cocktails, bonus) and a relaxing friendly atmosphere.

Every trip to York has to have a night at gibsons included :)

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Such incredible food, especially the burgers and the chips are to die for! Will definitely be coming nack here a lot. The cocktails are great too and at two for £7 definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Its ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Four of us ate here, the service was good and the décor and music is nice if you like rock . The cocktails are good, and the food was good and plentiful, after all it is mainly burgers. The downside was that they ran out of chunky chips which is a standard item on the menu.
I might return in the future but only for a drink.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food, Superb cocktails and Great staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Originally chose here for lunch as it looked like our sort of place (not overpriced, down to earth and playing great music) and we love the odd cocktail. We ordered our food, I had the Wagyu burger and my husband chose the crocodile. After a short wait the food arrived!! the burgers were delicious!! (we had never tried crock before but will definitely eat it in the future) The chips were more like boulders but really really tasty. We had such a lovely lunch, we went back after a ghost walk. We spent the rest of the evening in there, the cocktail list seemed non exhaustive......but we did our best!! I would recommend the milky way and candy apple and if you fancy a shot try a squashed frog. Will definitely return and would whole heartedly recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibson's Bar also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Gibson's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibson's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.