We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton by Hilton York to your Saves list
Hampton by Hilton York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in York
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for one night on a Saturday. The gentleman on reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was more than adequate for myself, my partner and our 2 year old. The room was very clean and had all the little things that you would expect. Breakfast was very nice and was a help yourself style buffet. The hotel is in a very central location but tucked away enough so that it is not disturbed by the hustle and bustle of city life.
Overall, a very pleasant stay..........would definitely stay here again if I was returning to York

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am glad that you thought the hotel was well located, and was delighted to read that you thought the receptionist was friendly.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    419
    86
    11
    7
See reviews for
260
471
39
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have really enjoyed our stay at the hamptin by hilton. The staff were freindly and very helpful the place was spotlessly clean the rooms were spacious well thought out with everything you could need and more.
We used the bar area in the evening and we were plesently supprised to see how reasonable the prices were not any more expensive than any other bar in york. They also serve pizza's 24 hrs a day and food till 9pm. We did not use this service as we had a table booked for a meal in the town that night so cannot comment on price quality etc.

Our room was one the main road and we noticed there was a nightclub opposite we expected we may hear some noise but i can happily say we heard nothing and it was a saturday night and we did notice it was in full swing when we arrived back to the hotel that evening. But the windows are so thick and they kept all the noise out giving us a comftable nights sleep especially as we could adjust the air con in the room to our comfort

We will definatly use again. The breakfast had a wide variety of choices ceral fresh fruit fresh fruit juices pastrys toast ( which you make yourself) there was also bacon sausage beans tomatoes scrambeled egg( possibly dried) and a never ending supply of tea coffee and hot chocolate. The tea was lovely and as a tea big drinker i was very happy.

My only niggle and it is so small is that the scrambeled egg did not seem fresh everything els was great. I will just not eat the egg next time but lets face it with such a large selection for breakfast even the most fussy eater would not go hungrey.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted you liked the hotel and was really pleased that you had a pieceful nights sleep.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My and my wife stayed here just for a night great and helpful staff nice room and a great breakfast !! What more can you possibly need? It's a well located hotel not right in the middle which suited us fine

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am glad that you thought the staff were friendly, and was delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast we offer.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Modern, spacious and comfortable rooms. Well equipped room and the beds were excellent. Within easy walking distance from the train station and not far from nice pubs and restaurants. The breakfast was excellent. There is a small bright bar with pleasant service, and reasonably priced drinks. Dining is good if you want to stay in, but rather basic. On the whole a pleasant experience which I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am glad that you thought the hotel was well located, and was delighted to read that you thought the rooms were well equiped and comfortable.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Room is tiny. No space to move around whatsoever. The temperature in the room was boiling and we couldn't sleep so turned on the air con and couldn't sleep for the noise it made. The bed was uncomfortable. Went down for breakfast bleary eyed and that was just as bad. Watery orange juice and bacon pale and uncooked. Toast had to be put in a few times before it even changed colour. Scrambled egg was probably better in prison! Rubbery and powdery. I will never stay here ever again. Our room faced onto the council offices and it was like being in a goldfish bowl and last but not least, you can't open any of the windows which added to the feeling of being in a greenhouse!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to deliver your expecations. It is extremely important to us that all of our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Please be assured that the issues you have mentioned will be full investigated.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I do hope you will chose to stay with us again so that we can restore your faith in the Hampton brand.

Kind regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a budget hotel and does about what it says on the tin and not a jot more unless you pay for it. My room had a pleasant view of the car park and little all else. If staying in a double room you will be expected to stump up an additional £10 for your partner etc

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was sorry to hear the we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion. It's extremely important to us that all of our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Unfortunately being loctaed in a prime location in the city centre does mean that not all of our rooms have the best views, however if you choose to stay with us again, we would be more than happy to allocate you a room with a view overlooking the city walls.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had a lovely two night stay at this hotel arriving on Saturday lunch time. I wasn't too sure what to expect but was very impressed with every aspect of hotel.Everything looked new and exceptionally clean. Very good location, with everything in walking distance. We had a twin bedded room and the beds were a good size, possible small doubles but definitely larger than single size, very comfortable.

Bathroom was spotlessly clean and had a large shower.

Reception staff were extremely friendly throughout our stay, making pleasant and genuine conversation with all guests. Greeting you on your return in the evening.The only exception to this was when we checked out as the receptionist on duty didn't make any conversation with us at all. I found this very strange as I had been sitting in the reception area for some time the morning before and had overheard the reception staff asking everyone who was checking out if everything had been ok during their stay etc.

Breakfast was also very good and plentiful. Being a tea drinker, the tea selection was vast but the hotel water was not very nice at all. This is only a small negative but did mean I then had to purchase a decent cup of tea in the town after breakfast.

I will definitely stay here again when visiting the lovely city of York and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I am glad that you thought the hotel was well located, and was delighted to read that you thought the staff were friendly. I was also pleased to read that you appreciated the small double beds we have in our twin rooms.

Thank you for your comments regarding your departure. I am sorry that one receptionist failed to deliver the friendly and welcoming service we pride ourselves on. Please be assured that your comments will be fedback to my Front of House Manager so that the reception team can learn from this.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes’ walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed©, staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.