We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton York

Save Saved
You added Hampton by Hilton York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #8 of 45 hotels in York
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently had a one night stay at the Hampton in York. It proved to be a good choice as it was close to the railway station, for onward travel and within walking distance to all the attractions of the city. Although the room was small it was well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean with lots of little extras. I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked your room.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    459
    311
    75
    7
    6
See reviews for
200
372
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful, clean and great location for a great weekend stay. 2 minutes walk from the train station, we got worried when we had to go down to the rooms but they were lovely with tall windows and a simple stylish layout. The only downside to the breakfast was no fried eggs but everything else was perfect. The staff were really pleasant and friendly, even the busy staff at breakfast all made conversation - would definitely book here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked your room.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is clean, well-situated and just right for a weekend in York. Breakfast was decent and the rooms well-appointed. The staff were helpful and friendly. Would recommend for a mid-range hotel experience. Would go back. The NCP car park is about 150 yards away on the same street and was pretty secure - hotel guests can park there for £10 per 24 hours - no worries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel, and found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Location - 5 minutes from the City Centre Room - Clean, comfy and great shower Breakfast - outstanding quality and HOT! Service - Excellent If any comments are negative about this hotel I would be surprised. After staying in many hotels in York this is definitely the best so far. Already booked to stay again................

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and I am glad you have decided to stay with us on your next trip to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you seek a modern, clean and comfortable hotel at a very affordable price within the city walls, I think you'd find this hard to beat. Rooms were of reasonable size, and we heard no outside noise at all. Only complaint: air conditioning was a bit noisy and didn't want to stay switched off! I think I should have just set the temp. very low. Decent breakfast. All the staff were pleasant and efficient. NCP car park was more expensive than I expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel, and found the staff firendly.

Please accept my apologies with regards to the air conditioning, and please be assured that we will look into this, as you certainly should have been able to switch it off.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We are currently staying here for 3 days and having stayed in several hotels in York over the years this is definitely the best one we've stayed in. The rooms are clean & comfortable , the staff were all helpful and friendly and the location was very good about a ten minute walk into the centre of York. The breakfast was sufficient and there was plenty of choice. We have already booked to come back for New Year and we are pleased we have its a great hotel and would recommend it if you want good quality in a central location.

Room Tip: Book early for good deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your current stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you are enjoying your stay, and that you have found the staff friendly and helpful.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we look forward to welcoming you back for New Year!

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a clean and comfortable room in this hotel. Modern bathroom with no bath but a walk-in shower so no climbing over the side of the bath to access it. Bliss! Large comfy double bed and enough hanging/drawer space for a short break. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Downstairs there were two PCs for guests use and a bar with lots of seating and 24/7 snacks. My only gripe was breakfast. Food was perfectly OK but the buffet had the feel of a canteen - orange plastic trays anyone?

Room Tip: For good views of York you probably need to ask for a room on the 5th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you liked the hotel, and enjoyed the use of the 2 PC's we have in our workzone area.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton, and we hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes’ walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed©, staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.