I'll probably echo quite a bit of what other people have already said here.
We stayed here for a couple of nights and, overall, was impressed. Our sat-nav didn't make it easy for us to find but it is close to the city centre and so within very easy reach of all the main attractions. Check-in was quick and easy and our room was large and clean with good facilities.
As others have said, the buffet breakfast was good and had a great choice but get down there before 9 as after then it's like World War Z and a horde of other guests suddenly show up and it's hard to get a seat.
A few disappointments though...
Firstly, it wasn't clear when booking that the car parking wasn't on-site. I know it's fairly common for city-based hotels to use other car parks but had I known this from the start, it may have influenced my decision to choose this hotel.
Secondly, the car park is close but only stays open until 10pm. I think this is pretty poor and means that you can't venture late beyond the city if you wanted to.
Finally, several of the TV channels didn't work. Someone else has pointed this out too so it was more than just an isolated incident.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.
Report response as inappropriate
I was glad that you had an enjoyable stay and liked the hotel and it's ameneties.
I was sorry to hear that you didn't feel the car parking was suitable for your needs. Whilst we do offer discount at the NCP on Tanner Row, which is advertised on our website, there are several other car parks in the vacinity that guests are free to use. Unfortunately we do not have our own car park, as is the case with several hotels in York, but we have negociated a special discount with a local car park which we feel is of benefit to the majority of our guests. Unfortunately for security reason's the car park does close at 10pm, however you can park outside the hotel overnight if you arrive later than 10pm or need to park after 10pm.
Thank you also for your comments regarding breakfast, we are aware that breakfast can get very busy at peak times, and we do provide information at the lifts as to which are the quieter times, and ask guests to use the bar seating area as well as the restaurant. Unfortunately as we provide an inclusive breakfast for all our guests, it is often busy, especially when many guests choose to eat between 9am and 10am.
Please accept my apologies for the issue with the TV reception for some of the channels. This has since been resolved and all channels are now working fully and I am sorry that this could not be resolved dueing your stay with us.
Thank you once again for your review and we do hope you will choose to stay with us next time you visit York.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.