We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, not so great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton by Hilton York to your Saves list
Hampton by Hilton York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in York
Chesterfield
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great hotel, not so great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend and the price was roughly the same as the Premier Inn as York is not the cheapest city to visit. The hotel was in a great location with the NCP car park just down the road. The room had everything you needed - only minor complaints were that the room was a little cold (it was a very cold weekend) and there were no biscuits. The bathroom was great with a massive shower and lots of shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. The breakfast is deemed to be 'free' as it is included in the room price so difficult to complain but there wasn't a great deal of choice for hot options - no tomatoes, mushrooms or fried eggs - and on Sunday morning the breakfast room was super busy. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the bar prices weren't outrageous as can sometimes be the case. Would definately stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay .

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast. As you mentioned, breakfast does tent to be quite busy, however we do try our best to inform guests as to when the quieter times are. I am glad that you found the staff helpful however.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    419
    86
    11
    7
See reviews for
260
471
39
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel looks close to the station, but you cant actually get in that way and it's quite a hike around to gain access. We did wait a while to check in and staff seemed happier going about their work than making eye contact, but the room was very nice indeed. Spacious, modern and elevated by touches of luxury. A small sofa was a decent addition too.

General areas were clean and well maintained also. For us, a big part of a hotel stay is a nice cooked breakfast. I have to say, this was the worst I've encountered in my entire life. Ingredients consisted of burned bacon, low quality sausage, beans and the worst processed scrambled egg I've ever tasted. It didn't even look like egg, and it was truly disgusting. You wouldn't get this in an army mess today, let alone a decent hotel. A cooked breakfast needs more ingredients such as tomatoes and mushrooms and the staple ingredients need to be of reasonable quality and properly cooked. Come on Hampton. Stop being such cheap skates. Prisoners would complain about this standard of food and it really put a damper on our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

I sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Thank you once again for your review.

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuffley
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned from a short stay at Hampton by Hilton. Hotel only opened in Oct 12 . Excellent price included a buffet style breakfast with hot food. Hotel ideally situtated only 5 minutes walk into city centre.Not recommended for car drivers as Car Park NCP costs £10. a day - let the train take the sstarin and relax whilst in the delightful city.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. A sofa bed to sleep 2 persons is also in your room so ideal for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay and our free breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We only stayed for one night. The rooms were spacious and comfortable but the bar, reception and breakfast areas were very clinical and pretty average. The hotel lacked any character or atmosphere which was disappointing in such a charismatic city as York. The service at the bar was poor, in that; the staff did not seem to be enjoying their job and the service was slow. The breakfast was poor quality and more like a fast food joint than a high rated hotel. Overall; would not recommend or stay here again. I have been to much better hotels for the same money or less.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

I sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Thank you once again for your review.

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel opened last October. A collegue recommended it and I must say I was really impressed.
It is propably 1 notch up from a Good Premier Inn. Nice size rooms and good facilities. The staff were friendly and gave a good service. Rooms were very clean too. The bar food is a bit average, but ok when you just want a lite bite. Good bar facilities and to top it all the location is great, 2 minute walk from the station, but in a quite location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your break.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My friend and i meet up regularly (in the middle ) for the both of us is york . Usually we stay on the other side of the river near the minster but decided to pick the hampton for the closest to the rail station . Easy to find turn left from station round the first round about is the cedar hotel turn in the gated walkway past the cedar,council offices on left look right and its there . Checkin is easy the hotel is rather like a posh ikea in appearance ,clean lines, mahogany and beige effect carries through to the rooms . Large spacious , we had room 424 on the corner of the 4th floor . lovely and clean with free toiletries , hairdrier , wi fi etc . cleaned and re stocked with tea and coffee nt day .The breakfast is served 6am till 10am we went down about 830 and found that time fine ,no q and plenty to eat serve yourself with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit ,cooked breakfast ,toast and preserves and unlimited drinks . When we checked out thurs morning we were able to leave our cases till it was time for the train a bonus as it left us free to go back into town for a bit . All in all a wonderful stay not fair to single any staff member out as they were all great . Will certainly be booking a return trip !

Room Tip: rooms high up lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you and your friend liked the hotel and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Good central location only 2 minutes from the city centre, staff very friendly and helpful. Lack of on site parking the only let down, however public car park at end of the street, would recommend for any type of visit to York.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you enjoyed your stay .

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we do hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit .

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes’ walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed©, staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.