We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton by Hilton York to your Saves list
Hampton by Hilton York
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in York
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

After trying a few of the more traditional hotels in York, I've now stayed at the Hampton nearly every week since it opened and would highly recommend it.

The staff are friendly, helpful and really make the effort to make you feel welcome.

The location is perfect for exploring the town and only a couple of minutes walk from the station.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfy - I don't need more than that!

Free wifi and breakfast are a bonus in an industry with ever increasing optional extras for a charge.

There's a few comments on here about the noise from nightclubs, but in fairness to the hotel, they really do what they can to minimise any disruption. Students will be students & they form a large part of York's demographic. Personally, out of all my stays here, I've only noticed it once and it should not be a reason for giving this place a miss.

Give it a try!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad that you like the hotel, and we certainly appreciate your comments regarding the staff.

It's also very pleasing to read that you chose to come back to us every week, and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing us.

Have a lovely weekend, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hampton by Hilton York very soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    419
    86
    11
    7
See reviews for
260
471
39
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, no complaints at all. The rooms were clean and modern, service was first class and the location was 5 minutes walk from Micklegate. I have noticed some other reviews complaining about noise from the night club opposite but we did not hear a thing. Breakfast was good, hot and cold buffet fayre but was good quality and tasty. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and that you enjoyed our free breakfast.



Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to York.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked this from the US and was not quite sure what I was getting, since it was new, with no reviews, and I had never been to York. I was not disappointed! The staff sent me clear instructions on how to arrive from the train station, so that was a big plus since I was walking from there. I arrived early and thought I would just leave my bags, but the staff was very helpful and allowed me to check into my room early. The hotel was spotless and my room very pleasant. It was an easy walk into York, down the hill and across the river, even at the end of the day after shopping and touring I enjoyed the walk and took different routes to see different parts of York. It was also an easy walk to the theater, the reason I came to York in the first place! I saw the local production of Calendar Girls! A true treat! PS, the breakfasts were great too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and that you found the staff helpful.

I hope you enjoyed your time in York and that the Calender girls lived up to your expecatations.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope you chose to stay with us on your next visit to the UK..

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I'm a regular visitor to York and have tried a number of hotels and would rate the Hampton by Hilton pretty highly. I was warmly welcomed on arrival and pleased to see that the room was clean and well appointed. I used the fitness room which was small but had modern equipment. It's about a ten minute walk into the centre of York so reasonably well situated, and breakfast in the morning was varied and plentiful (didn't try the bar or evening menu). Staff very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel.

What could be improved? Just a small thing but it would be good to have information in the room about the restaurant with a menu so that you can decide whether to eat in or out. Also, there is an area off the restaurant with computers and internet access but didn't find this until I was about to leave the hotel so again info in the room would have been helpful. Finally, it would have been nice to have a few more teabags and maybe some biscuits in the room which most other hotels in this price range include.

Very small points though - on the whole had a good stay and will most certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay..

Thank for your feedback regarding the restaurant and the work zone, which is very much appreciated, we will take this on board in order to ensure we improve the service we offer to future guests.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice new hotel Stayed three nights nice room modern .staff very helpfull.Front of house very obliging Would reccomend for a short stay.Breakfast very nice plenty of it but dont have an evening meal.We had fish and chips soggy have cooked in the oven we couldnt eat them big let down to a very nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and enjoyed our free breakfast.

I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your evening meal. I will ensure that the team recieve further training to ensure meals are served to standard.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Absolutely recommend this hotel as it is thr best that I have ever stayed in. They have a gym, conference room and a cafe. They have a very big space for breakfast from 6 or 7 to 11 o'clock, compared to the average hotel where you have to eat in one hour. The breakfast is like a large buffet with; blueberry and chocolate muffins, croissants, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, herbal tea, fruit juice and toast. Plus, you can choose to have a full English and have dinner there as well. In the rooms, the facilities are great with shampoo, conditioner, hand wash, moisturiser, a large wardrobe, ironing board, hairdryer, radio with an alarm and very comfortable beds. The only negative that I can think of is the price, but the quality was so good and the staff so excellent, it was definately worth while.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and enjoyed our free breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a cut down version of a Hilton hotel, nicely set out modern room with the usual friendly staff. It is centrally located on a back street behind the station. It has only been open since October and is clean and well appointed. As usual staff were excellent and we managed to check in at 10:30 am leaving us the day to mooch around this lovely historic city.

Breakfast included and a reasonable selection at the buffy. This hotel is oposite Yorks largest nightclub but we did not here any noise from this except as we were coming in, even then it was not too noisy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBurnham, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton York, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hampton by Hilton York.

I was delighted to read that you liked the hotel and that you had a lovely stay., and enjoyed our free breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hampton by Hilton York, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Victoria Burnham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton York

Address: Toft Green, York YO1 6JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton York 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton by Hilton York is five minutes’ walk from York railway station in the heart of the historic city centre. Stay in a cosy guest room and sleep well on a comfy Hampton bed©, staying connected in your guest room with free high-speed internet access. We also offer a range of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Start each day with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.