We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Happy Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hedley House Hotel to your Saves list
Hedley House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another Happy Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

As an ex-travel Agent I can say that Hedley House is one of the best small hotels I have visited.
I especially appreciated being able to invite friends to a delicious dinner, which went on a long time and we all very much enjoyed! I shall recommend Hedley House to friends in the UK and abroad,.
Moira.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Great to have you back and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    410
    108
    37
    13
See reviews for
196
678
28
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My friend and I had a lovely couple of nights stay at Hedley House....The staff were lovely, Our room was spotless, The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and good value for money... The hotel is within easy reach of the shops and restaurant and bars ect.
They think of everything, even down to the umbrellas on a rainy day.

We will most certainly be coming back again and we will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We booked two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Every thing was first class and will certainly be the only place we will stay when we next visit York. Staff are pleasant,The hotel is impressive and tastefully decorated. The food was excellent too. No complaints at all. A big thank you to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We spent a couple of nights at the Hedly House last week and had an excellent stay. Great location within a few minutes walk to town centre and railway museum. Breakfast was fantastic and our room was clean and bright. Friendly staff helped make this an enjoyable visit. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good location at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just spent two nights at Henley House. Lovely room with a huge bathroom both fantastically lit with natural light. Staff were genuinely welcoming and couldn't be more helpful. Great breakfast. Our only negative was we couldn't find the car park! We throughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

AMAZING! Really enjoyed our stay. Very friendly, helpful staff. Thank you for having us. Would recommend. Short walk from the centre. Very accommodating. Good parking. Clean room. Very big comfy beds. It's all the extras that make headley house stand out from the rest! They have thought of everything from umbrellas for those Rainey days to straighteners for those forgotten essentials. Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked this on a Groupon deal and we were a little worried it might be a shabby little place trying to drum up business. How wrong we were.
We had a big room with all the usual amenities. Soft bed, ample sized bathroom. Very helpful friendly staff, from the owners to the chef. (More about him later)
We were given a helpful guide around a local map, which came in very handy and were shown to our room by Andy, the Manager.
We also chose to eat one night in the restaurant. We were not disappointed. Sean Hammond is the resident chef and his food,, quality and portion size is excellent. We had a proper meal for 4, lots of variety and everything served up was excellent. Even if you don't stay here, go for a meal.
The hotel is ideally placed for the town, without being in the middle of the hustle and bustle. A 10 minute walk from the town centre, 5 mins from the buses and railway station and 3 minutes to the river. A great early morning walk for those that way inclined.
I honestly haven't been able to fault the place. The breakfasts were served efficiently by the staff and the quality of the food from the bread to the bacon was obvious. We also had bar snacks one day, again, great portions of quality.
There is also a modest spa, including jacuzzi that you can book by the hour and massages too, all at extra cost , but we didn't have time to try that.
If I ever visited York again, if Lou and Greg still owned the place, I wouldn't bother going anywhere else.
Perfect. We can't thank you all enough.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back. There is a local railway line and whilst not very frequent, they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to add your comments

Its great to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. Gym, 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking. Electric car charging station free for residents Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedley House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.