We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable excellence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hedley House Hotel to your Saves list
Hedley House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Namsos, Norway
1 review
“Reasonable excellence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you're not looking for the most expensive hotels in York, but still want excellent standards, go for Hedley House.

At some times i went to kitchen, just because the kitchen was such a big kitchen, like you want to. Also the bedroom and bathroom were good, and I just enjoyed being there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
See you again next year.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    410
    108
    37
    13
See reviews for
196
678
28
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went on a short KGB deal without high expectations. However we were pleasantly surprised.The location is excellent, only a few minutes walk from the centre and with no need to use our car which stayed in the hotel car park for the duration.
The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The food was very good. The room and bathroom were a good size and spotlessly clean, and kept so by daily housekeeping. Wine served in the jacuzzi was nice touch at the end of a hard day sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
sshhhhh...... Don't tell everyone about the special offers we do in winter - they are too popular as it is!! And anyway we probably won't do that this winter so just keep an eye on our facebook page or call direct for the best offers

Next you'll be telling people to put 10%OFF on the Hedley House Hotel booking form web page to get the discounts -....ok you can tell people about that one!!

Booking tip of the day - BOOK Direct its cheaper!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed at Hedley House for two nights on a KGB Deal, arrived Saturday checked in the afternoon,
there was two couples, and would have expected to have two rooms together! no one in each on
end of the house, we were given room 31 but was not ready, so was given room 56 (54 stairs up)
in the attic.
Not what we were expecting looking at the photos on the web.
The room was clean, but was cold, heating not on all the time!! second day no clean towels.
and no cups or telephone to ring down for service and light bulbs out over the bed!!
Breakfast and staff good.

Don't think we would return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThebossYork, Owner at Hedley House Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Sorry to read you were not completely satisfied with your stay

The rooms offered via KGB are our standard rooms with the option to upgrade for a small fee so the rooms are where they are unfortunately. An upgrade would have got rooms next to each other.

I will look into the housekeeping issues you raise immediately.

The sign in the rooms ask guest to put the towels in the bath or shower to indicate they require changing as most guest hang them and use them on more than one occasion to help save the world ;-)

We hope to see you again soon

Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is just ideal for a short break in York. It is only a few minutes walk from nearly all that York has to offer.
We were met by Sarah who was quite delightful and very keen to help us get our bearings. As our stay progressed we met hoteliers Greg and Louise, lovely engaging people.
Our bedroom and bathroom were spotless (and were kept that way by housekeeping).
Our stay was on a bed and breakfast basis and we enjoyed freshly made, good tasting fresh food each morning.
For those travelling by car there is a carpark and you can abandon your vehicle and get your walking shoes on!
An innovative touch is the Guest Information Book found in each bedroom - it is full of humour and personal touches - reflecting Hedley House, its management and its staff.
We recommend HH and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have had some bad experiences with Groupon and KGB deals. When you get there some place put you in the lowest grade room, you can often only get only a few dates for reservations and then they offer you a special menu with much reduced options. You are made to feel you are doing it on the cheap.

THIS WAS NOT the case at Hedley House. Great place to stay, booking was so easy and I got just the dates I wanted. Staff are very friendly and obliging and the room was great. A really large room with equally large bathroom was more that ideal.

The food at Hedley House was also fantastic. Whilst it's not far into York I really wondered why people would want to leave the comfort of the hotel in the evening and walk into the city. Take my advice, try the food there, you will come back for more.

Will most certainly be going back there to do Christmas shopping later in the year. Save a room for us please.

Room Tip: Ask the management they will oblige you. If you can't climb stairs ask for the ground floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very friendly helpful staff. Excellent room. Had a problem with the shower and it was fixed promptly. Well done! Lovely breakfast. Easy walk to town and from station. Would definitely return if on another trip to York.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Ideally located within walking distance of the city centre, parked the car never used it for two days, hotel excellent value, breakfast excellent and all staff very attentive and knowledgable would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. Gym, 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking. Electric car charging station free for residents Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedley House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.